Creating a new art stylesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #design5 years ago

Banner steemit-10.png
scape-desktopv3_spike.png

A new look


It’s been a while since my last post. I was busy, and that happens from time to time. Fortunately, I had some time making new things. First, I want to show you all a new series of illustrations I’ve been working on. This series of illustrations are developed by me for my new website. They are used to get a new a s c e t i c of the ground. I would like to share some insight of this new look and feel.

Visional DTP.png
Stekels_dtp.png

Color

The main focus was the color blue. You can see this color coming back in the logo. The color orange is not used in the illustrations at all. The orange color will highlight elements on the website like buttons, quote marks and links. In color theory orange and yellow compliments blue. This means that the combination of complimentary colors creates high contrast.

Visional City.png
Stekels_cityV1.png

Formation & placement


Every image consists of a white top and a dark blue bottom. This will create a cool looking transition between text elements. It also keeps the image 'responsive'. For the people that are not familiar with this term. It means that your website is 'mobile friendly' and scalable.

Schermafbeelding 2019-09-24 om 12.05.21.png

Here you can see a screenshot I’ve made. Rather then using boring flat colored panels. I used an image as transition instead. The top has a white background while the bottom has a dark blue background. The image is used as a transition between the two panels.

Warped perspectives


I also love to play with depth and perspectives in my illustrations. When you warp perspective lines the image will look more cartoony and memorable. This style gives your images more character.

Visional Server.png
stekel_server.png

Inspiration


These illustrations where inspired by the look and feel you see in Zelda the Wind Waker and some wallpapers I saw online. In this one I tried to tell a story. Will this captain ever find his treasure? And what does it mean!?!

Stekels_visional1.png

Mixing 2D with 3D


I’m really happy how this image turned out. In this experiment I tried to blend a 3D rendered cube I’ve made in Blender with an Illustrator image.

3d cubev2.png
stekels5.png

Creating depth


There are 11 illustrations in total. But only 7 where selected for this article. Every image shows a special element that separates them from each other. The lighter colors are always set in the background. While the darker once are more in the foreground. This will create atmospheric depth. Every image has vignette, iris blur and a sun colored overlay as an effect. These effects where added with Photoshop.

ContactV1.png
Stekels3.png

That's all for now. I hope you like these illustrations.

Have a great awesome day!
Peace | Gavin van Hoeijen

You can hire Visionalmind for all your graphical and auditive solutions.
You can contact me in English with this contact form: www.visionalmind.com/contact

Sort:  

Congratulations @visionalmind! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58