What I learned from failing in my first Web Design Contest

in #design7 years ago (edited)

Humble Beginnings

Once I was all sure to get into Web & UX/UI design, I signed up as a member of Interaction Design Foundation(IDF). This happened last year August.

I enrolled in 4 courses and once I completed them I enrolled for 3 more. As of now, I have completed 5 of them.

  • Become a UX Designer from Scratch
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • The Practical Guide To Usability
  • User Experience: The Beginner's Guide
  • Web Design For Usability

And once I was done with them I felt the need to do some practical and then I came across Freelance Web Design course on Udemy by Christian Doru Barin. I have written about it here

First Step Into The Arena

Last week I completed it and participated in my first crowdsourcing design contest on 99Designs

At first, I was little unsure if I would be able to make it but somehow I started working on it. And in a matter of few hours, I was ready with my first draft. I continued working on it the next day and submitted it.

Although I did not qualify for the Final round but I am more confident in my self and the little fear and lack of confidence I had in my own abilities are no more there.

Learning From First Attempt

In life sometimes it is just a matter of 1 step and the same thing that seemed an obstacle seems nothing in front of us. The same happened to me in a matter of just 1 day. To be precise, just a few hours.

Never ever underestimate yourself and your abilities. It is just a matter of time and effort and we can do and achieve whatever we set our mind to.

Today I started participating in another contest and already submitted my design. Now I am waiting for results.

Here is my previous design for your reference. And you all are free to give advice/suggestions/improvements/criticisms in it.

Benefitdeck-Consulting-1.0 - Copy.png

You can also find this design at my 99Designs profile page



Find and know more about me at
LinkedIn
Medium

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57