I can't buy new clothes, so I'll make them

in #design6 years ago (edited)

My fashion design internship starts in a little less than two weeks and I've realized that I need something new to wear. As a student, I haven't had an income for the past year or more, so it's probably not very bright to invest a lot of $$ in new clothes for another unpaid position... So, let's see what I can do with what I've got:

This old basic button down blouse, for which I made the pattern years ago, is a good place to start. 20180202_122105.jpgI have the sloper (pattern template) on hand; so it will be easy to make modifications for a new blouse with more design interest. For starters, I want to make an exaggerated sleeve with a lot of room at the elbow. 20180202_120157.jpgI'd also like to change the collar from pointed to round, add length at the hem, a pleat at center back, and make the cuffs longer, all relatively straightforward modifications. Maybe I'll do a hidden placket as well.

Since I want to save as much $$ as possible, I'll try out the new pattern with fabric that I have on hand. This is a cute cotton print that will be fun for transitioning into spring. 20180202_122710.jpgIf it doesn't turn out perfectly, it's not the end of the world. I'll work out the kinks for a second attempt in a bright green, silk polka-dot fabric, which is a little more expensive and luxurious than the cotton. 20180202_124233.jpg

I hope you'll follow me on my mini design adventure. I'll try to post an update at least every other day. If I can get the fabric cut out this afternoon, I should be able to begin sewing tomorrow.

-TL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35