Making a band logo

in #design7 years ago (edited)

So this is going to be the process and, result of making the band logo for the band called "The Crying Spell".

cryingspell crowd.jpg

I was a huge fan of the singers previous project POINT1, and the singer of both bands (Len Hotrum) contacted me about creating a logo for his new project. Of course I was ecstatic to work with my favorite singer/songwriter. So we set up a meeting and got to work! It was a 6 hour brainstorming session. Listening to music, telling stories, building rapport. It honestly was a dream come true, I'm pretty sure I was shaking the whole time.
So these were the day 1 sketches during that 6 hour session....



And we had not decided on anything quite yet. I went to bed that night... and it came to me in my sleep. Literally.
I had subconsciously been designing the logo, and as I woke up I saw it.
These were the original sketches that morning on a scrap piece of paper.

And the final design sketch

I rendered it in illustrator, and I sent it over to the singer via email when I still had dial up. and the rest is history :)
original logo.jpg
Here are a few images of the logo in use....
On a tshirt

Album art
19885791_1880059105650496_436682114_o.jpg
cryingspellrainbow.jpg
Stage Banners
cryingspell stage.jpg

and my logo at the end of the video :)

Sort:  

at first i thought it had some place for improvements , but the logo turned out perfect , nice job , upvoted

Thanks. Rough work typically needs improvements haha. I just wanted to be totally transparent of the design process, showing everything. Good and bad

This was really cool to see how your strange mind works. The process is pretty cool and great job. I just had to make a vinyl cover for a band. I've never done it before so it was pretty interesting!

Haha thanks man. It was literally a dream come true. Its what I initially wanted to do for a living, but going to art school ruined my passion for art. 10 years later now, Steemit has actually helped me revive that passion.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by saywha from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

That's so cool! I've been thinking about getting a logo done for our band! How much do you charge?

Are you on steemit.chat? My name is same there. You can DM me and we could talk more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57666.58
ETH 3076.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28