3D Modeling - How a noob built an F-14D Tomcat (3000 hrs +)

in #design7 years ago

R_G2_5.2.png

R_G2_3.png

In December of 2015 I had the crazy idea of building an F-14D Tomcat 3D model. Not only that but the plan was to build a fully functional one for inclusion into a flight simulation. I had no idea how much learning, trial and error, time, nerves but also progress, success and appreciation this would bring to me.

It's incredible to look back at the first screenshots from late December 2015:

Screenshot 2015-12-18 10.21.png

Screenshot 2015-12-10 19.10.png

Screenshot 2015-12-10 19.11.png

Screenshot 2015-12-19 14.10.png

I'll do a couple of blogs detailing the initial setup (background images, program settings in blender, scale, etc.) including some things I know today I didn't back then.

It will include hard surface modeling and material selection as well as rigging all movable surfaces (of which there are many on this aircraft) and also some history on the Tomcat.

R2_19.png

R31.png

R2_20.png

Maybe I can save some noobs some time when starting their own project or give some of you an inspiration to start something like this. I'd never claim it is easy or quick but it is possible and THAT is the important thing.

You're looking at one of the most detailed, authentic and accurate models that exist of this airplane. Trust me, I know all that have ever been built for simulations and most that are in development or have been modeled just for the hell of it without the intention of implementing it into a functional environment.

Getting the proportions right is probably the hardest thing to do, I'll go into that in detail. Also I modeled it with efficiency in mind as I originally aimed for a triangles count limit of 30.000 - needless to say that's not gonna happen :).

hook1.png

What we have here is a model that is not fully optimized yet but at the same time also still missing some details (mostly actuators and hinges and some periphery such as the refueling probe). So it is still in development but I feel I'm far enough to recap the development process which has by now taken close to 3000 hrs and be able to offer some meaningful value to you Steemians especially the ones into 3D modeling or probably more relevant for people just starting out.

I originally started with texture work in 2007, back then I wouldn't have dreamed of ever putting together a 3D model myself.

Here are some textures which are the result of almost 10 year and 1000s of hours of working on them and my techniques...

Screenshot 2016-08-17 13.47.png

VF31 06 101 FF.png

Some ingame shots (mind you this is the sim on 2010-2013 and the old low-poly model):

2013-05-23_223241.jpg

2013-05-23_223241.jpg

2011-05-29_220727.jpg

Untitled-1 copy2.jpg

One of my main motivators is looking at these shots and imagining what this new model will look like with the 2017 lightning engine, dynamic water, 4K textures and all those shiny details :)...

R_G2_4.png

During the last 10 years I've grown very close to the (original) Grumman company, the people who designed and tested and maintained and flew this legendary machine. Along the way I've made quite a few new friends and also created tons of original art call it Tomcat Memorabilia.

VF154 SCS.jpg

Anyway, as the say:

grumman_f_14_tomcat_flight_insignia_by_viperaviator-d6t74jy.png

Anytime, Baby.

Sort:  

Georgeous model!!!

Thanks! It's not finished yet but I must admit I'm quite proud of the overall proportions. There are 100s (literally 100s) of areas that I rebuilt, retouched or reshaped again and again to get it right. Especially the nose section is where most models simply fail (even ever so slightly but they do). At some point though you gotta call it a day and move the project forward and not get lost in getting it 'perfect' which isn't possible anyway.

R27.png

Beautifully done. Will be following, I'm sure to enjoy this ride. Meanwhile, enjoy my humble up vote for your hardwork.

Still one of the most bad-ass planes ever.

You know it man. Anytime, Baby.

Wonderful! Must be really hard! A ton of maths and a thorough understanding of the programs! I have never tried to make 3D models but why not! Apparently it is possible!

Thanks for your comment. It really isn't. Mostly just a question of techniques, reference material, organization and discipline.

Understanding the programs literally means learning about them, trial and error, manuals, books, youtube and most importantly a community of like minded individuals ideally working on stuff for the same application as you are so you can ask them.

But yes, over the course of such a project you learn A LOT about physcis, aerodynamics, thermodynamics, technologies and just military aviation in general so you should like that stuff otherwise you'll be turned off quickly. Alternatively you could just say I build the model and hand it off to someone who will deal with the rest.

For me the F-14 was always a passion and this is a passion project so I can't get enough of all the history, stories, info and details.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69