An Art Nouveau Fireplace Mosaic For an Atlanta Home

in #design6 years ago

Preset lovely.JPG

A few years ago I received an email from a woman in Atlanta, Georgia who asked if I could create a fireplace surround for her home despite her small budget. She had saved photos of my work for 5 years while putting money aside to make her dream fireplace.

I was amazed and so touched. 5 years, wow, what an honor! I told her that we could absolutely work with her budget.

They aren’t rich by any means but value a beautiful home. Very often what I recommend for people with a small budget is to pick a few really special pieces or even just one - a piece of furniture, a rug, an accent wall of tile - rather than to spread it over a lot of “good” items. Even just one of these can “make” a room giving it mood and magnetism and far more pleasing than a room that’s fine but not at all special. Then over time you can add another element or 2 if you have the budget. Having items in your home that you really love makes all the difference.

This client was already thinking like this before contacting me. She wanted to start with the fireplace surround and then next year to add the fireplace hearth.

She sent me dimensions and her vision board with all of the colors she liked and her sources of inspiration. She is a huge fan of the Art Nouveau and Arts & Crafts era and so it was easy to know how to approach the aesthetic.

I started by putting together some glazes to show her. To save her money, I did this very causally and simply sent her iPhone photos of the glazes to get the idea of what she liked. Simultaneously I sent her photos of some previous work to use as a point of departure and so I could get a feel for which direction to pursue.

IMG-8728.JPG

She loved my Quince Tree design and wanted to use it along with some flowers from another design and her own color palette.

Here is the palette I generally use for my Quince Tree:

RFG Perennial Quince Field crop.jpeg

So I made a small sample showing this design using the colors she chose and mailed this to her so she could make sure the glazes worked well in the room and with her home.

glaze test 01.jpg

Once approved, I created a drawing to the exact dimensions of the client's fireplace. I used the Poppy flowers below from another of my designs, to help me determine where the flowers should go within the field of Quince leaves. I always kept the color palette close by at every step so I could begin "see" the finished product in my mind's eye.

creating a drawing.JPG

This drawing serves as a cutting template as well as a guide on which to put the entire piece together before shipping it. Next I rolled out clay slabs and starting the process of cutting the tiles (leaves and flowers):

cutting quince tiny.jpeg cut flowers tiny.jpeg

Once I had cut and fired some of the tiles, I began glazing. Often I get so involved in a project that I completely forget to take photos and with this one, I have nothing to show of the glazing or firing. So, we skip ahead to the stage when I began to put all of the cut, fired, glazed, and fired tiles all together:

starting the pre-setting.JPG

Something that came up during glazing is how dark or light the flowers should be. I left them until the end so I could see them against the rest of the piece:

without the flowers.jpg

The client had chosen a yellow center inside each flower but once I'd made them I thought the yellow didn't work as well as we'd hoped. She agreed so I remade the flowers.

flowers with yellow ick.JPG

Once remade I aimed for a mix of light, medium and dark, but then found that the darker ones were too dark:

dark flower tiny file.jpeg light flower tiny file.jpeg

Although I kept a few medium-dark glazed flowers, I far preferred those on the lighter side which show the line detail. Plus the medium-light tone works better with the overall color scheme. This meant making a few more flowers and glazing them a bit lighter.

And .... the whole piece put together:

Preset lovely.JPG

This flower ordeal is something that is very hard to predict and while I always try to include a buffer in the cost for such re-workings, it's almost impossible to know just what kind of thing will arise. This the kind of thing that pushes me over budget. As always when this happens, what can I do but just avoid thinking about it too much and focus on doing my best work. I really want the customer to have something truly beautiful, not something almost right but not quite. 5 years is far too long to wait for something good but not great!!

And of course my signature which I so often forget but this time the client specifically requested it:

my signature small.jpeg

Stay tuned for my posts every few days offering you an insider's view of my studio and artist's life. Thank you for supporting my blog + my art-work, you make it possible!


171002_Icon-Diagrams-05 small.png
Sndbox Steward

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

Yet another beautiful piece, an indeed well deserved... 5 years is a long time!
Love the tones of the leaves.
Happy to see your signature which I was wondering about. You actually forget it sometimes?! Tsk tsk tsk 😉

thank you on all counts :-)! yes I've forgotten to sign the majority of my pieces over the years, it's really foolish. Usually it's because towards the end of a project there is a kind of momentum and often an urgency to ship the piece that is related to a deadline and/or needing to be paid so I forget all non-essentials. Perhaps a signature is an essential though!

Haha, perhaps!

What a lovely article @natureofbeing and a truly beautiful piece of work.
I love seeing the process you go through to bring something in to form and was so glad you went for something "truly beautiful, not something almost right but not quite".
What an honour to have a client save for 5 years to be able to have you create something for her.

When first started reading I found myself wondering why you would go to the trouble of making your own tiles when you could just cut some already made. Then I saw the beauty in each individual one and it was obvious!

I'm never seen the process of hand made tiles being made before and I'm loving watching your works in progress or completed like this one.

Thanks so much for taking the time to record your work. Do you enjoy writing the articles or do you find yourself itching to get back to your studio?

Thanks for your thoughtful comment @gillianpearce, I'm so glad to hear that by the time you had progressed in the article, you understood why I make my own tiles. Also that watching the process is offering you something!

And to answer your question, I do truly enjoy creating these posts. I enjoy the story telling and show + tell from my point of view, and I'll say that I actually learn from it all! I just wrote about this a little in my last post where I said

Writing about my work - if approached right - builds my passion for it, much like a conversation with my sweetie about our relationship can help keep the connection strong, clear and the flame alive.

A win-win all round then @natureofbeing. That is wonderful to hear. 😍

Another amazing piece here Ruth. I love the story behind it too. This sure looks like worth the five years wait, your client will love this.

I agree with your advice about having a piece you really love. My favorite is a last supper from my mom she gave me and @dandalion when we were just starting out. It needs some restoration now, but I love it still.

29498040_2040655489541353_5130870478440759296_o.jpg

Thank you so much @steemitph and wow what a gorgeous piece you have here! Is the center 3-dimensional? I can't tell if I'm imagining that or if it is actually in relief.

Yep, it is. I will have more time this coming April to get to having it restored :-)

That's a lot of tedious and delicate work @natureofbeing
Thanks for sharing the process. Turned out nice. Thanks for helping others too. :)
Joy

Wow! That is stunning. I love the colors.

This is stunning and gorgeous @natureofbeing! We say "golden hands" in Korean when it comes to one's artistic talents. You have golden hands! =]Thanks for sharing the process, truly amazing.

Best compliment ever @mintvilla, thank you so much!!

Interesting story, the fireplace turned out very special and beautiful. A pleasant combination of colors.

thank you @anna-mi, it was a real pleasure to make!

What an amazing little story! I'm sure your client is super excited about getting such a beautiful piece =)

thank you so much @hansikhouse, she was so happy and was one of those rare and wonderful clients!!

ps. sndbox steward footer ok??

Lovely creation, definitely a true work of art. So sweet of her to have saved photos of your work for so long, you know it will be an appreciated piece!

thank you and yes you are so right, I knew my work would be loved and appreciated and this makes all the difference!

Ruth, you are brilliant you amazing, beautiful woman! The client knew you could deliver something so beautiful so she waited patiently for 5 years to get her dream fireplace. This shows how good you are at your work and because you are so nice, you draw lovely clients your way. I loved it! And if possible, do ask the client to send you a picture of the fireplace all set so we can see how the piece looks in her home. Lovely work!

Thank you @sharoonyasir, it's an honor to create these sorts of pieces! And yes actually I've already requested photos :-).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59661.11
ETH 2670.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50