Game Files Logo Redesign

in #design6 years ago (edited)

game-files_logo_steem_03.jpg

I was approached by @gamefiles, the "Video Game Ambassadors of the Blockchain", to redesign and update their old logo.

game-files_logo_old.jpg
Before and after logo transformation

I had this idea in my head from the moment I read the name “Game Files”. I created an icon of a filing cabinet pulled out, with a classic game cartridge peaking through as if someone is looking through files, archives, records, or past saves of different games. Something about the word “files” evokes a feeling of history, so I wanted to add a nod to the classics with the old game cartridge. I used bright, almost neon colors to keep with the video game/arcade theme.

game-files_logo_steem.jpg
Vertical orientation

game-files_logo_steem_02.jpg
Horizontal orientation

One main request was to incorporate cryptocurrency somewhere into the design. Coins have always been a staple of video games throughout the years, so what better way deliver that message than an 8-bit Bitcoin icon? It fit with the theme perfectly and I really needed something to fill the empty label of the cartridge, so everything really seemed to fall into place and come together on its own.

As always, I started this piece on pencil and paper. From there, I blocked out all of the shapes in Illustrator, and layered all of the details, shadows, and shines on top. I use a lot of gradients in a lot of my work, but I wanted to stick with flat colors on this one.

game-files_logo_steem_sketch.jpg
Initial rough pencil sketch

Let me know what you think in the comments below and be sure to visit the @gamefiles page and give them a follow! You can also visit their Twitter page here.

I'm the Lead Graphic Designer and Associate Art Director for the creative team at The Imagination House in Orlando, Florida. I also freelance - living, working, and traveling out of my 1984 Volkswagen Van named Nathan. If you have a project you'd like to talk about, email me at [email protected]. I accept Steem and USD.


tog_web_04.png

Thanks for reading! Follow us on Instagram here.
Learn more about us here.

Sort:  

Wow that looks so cool! Really sweet design

Thank you Brien for redesigning my logo, this is one of the best things to happen for me on Steemit.

Much love,
Game Files

More good things to come! I'm really glad you're happy with it. It was a pleasure working with you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68