[Public Design Project] Steem Park, Moving Forward!

in #design7 years ago (edited)

mintvilla.jpg


Welcome to Mintvilla!


Hi everyone! I'm excited to give an update on STEEM Park today. As I mentioned in my intro post, I've been working with @hitheryon and @sndbox to take on more responsibilities concerning the park project. As Public Programs Associate at the Von King Park Conservancy (where the project is located), their team introduced me to Steemit and the incredible process in which they fundraised. The Herbert von King Park has historically seen very little funding and government support so it's exciting to see such an innovative technology make great impact.

From our side at the conservancy, STEEM Park was the best way to jumpstart our long-term development plan. The New York City Parks Department only supports parks that have a proven record of engagement and communal investment. With STEEM Park's momentum, we were able to start our needed portfolio of installation work, new infrastructure, cultural events, and community engagement. Today I will present our short and long-term goals for STEEM Park in Bedford-Stuyvesant.

05_picture2.jpg


Short-term Goals


First things first, STEEM Park is the initial spark to bring ongoing engagement to the park. Our primary goal is to bring a diverse array of activities that sustain the park as a communal and cultural destination. Vibrancy is the ultimate goal as vibrant life encourages safe, uplifting, and productive life.

In this way, the Steemit project was a proof-of-concept that these activities are really possible. In less-supported areas of the city, there is a general sentiment that these communities are “left behind” and subject to the eventual dangers of gentrification. The idea that a diverse group of people can pull off exciting projects is generally non-existent and met with levels of pessimism.

But now, the head of the conservancy Wayne Devonish and I can begin to pursue outdoor theater, musical events, community picnics, artistic workshops, public gatherings, and so on.

Among those precedents, one thing we're immediately working on is more substantial signage and wayfinding elements in the park. This will provide more welcoming elements and a general sense of accessibility for those that are not just local residents.

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 11.40.37 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 11.40.59 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 1.18.42 PM.png

We have a number of components we want to incorporate including audio histories and QR codes that reference historic photos and resources. We'll definitely open this up to ideas within the Steemit community soon!


Moving Forward


Our more long-term goals in the coming year is to establish the Von King Park as an official 501c(3) conservancy in New York and leverage that position for more involvement. Be sure to follow these posts to see our updates to the website, newsletter, and physical park itself.

vonkingaxon.jpg

Also, thank you @hitheryon for the SBD grant to start these projects!

Thanks everyone! Let me know what you think below.


Thanks for reading & Stay tuned for the next story!
@Mintvilla, an ever-learning landscape architect

follow-mintvilla.gif

Sort:  

Weeeeewww 😍😍😍

It is a very interesting one.
But, if there are beautiful flowers in the road, the garden will look more beautiful.
Later I will come to take pictures in the park. 😁😁
But the park is where ?, I do not know where the park is located, ha ha ha ha😅😅

ur post is very interesting @mintvilla 👏👏👍

Hi @kentutmonyet
First of all, thank you for your comment. ☺️The park is located in Bedford Stuyvesaant neighborhood in Brooklyn, New York. If you are nearby, you should come to our blockcahin meet up. I believe @hitheryon are going to host one at the park very soon! 🙌🏼

New york ??? 😦😦😦
Ooooooowwwwhhh, very far for me to get there 😅😅
But, if I get a chance, I'll come to the park, but I just want to fight with u @mintvilla 😊😊😅
I want to photograph the park with you.
Hahahahaha

You want to fight with me then take a photo? Haha oh well I am definitely in for the photo part. Where are you located? Let me know when you visit NY!

My money is on a TKO in the 5th round, She will do the Ali Shuffle till you tire out ! Then mintvilla will drop you on the mat.

Hello @mintvilla
I am a Graphic Designer and i would love to be part of your team too in various projects for Steem Park. Thank you

GIF.gif

Hi @africangold! For sure. I will follow and check out your page:)

Hi
I support you
{ 🙏🏻 } { @haji } { 🙏🏻 }

Thank you ☁️🙏🏻☁️

FANTASTIC work!
Ingenious and practical - we need more people like you doing such wonderful things for the community!

Followed upvoted and resteemed!

images.png

Oh thanks! That is so nice of you, following you.

Thanks for share.............. @mintvilla

thank you hrhabibur.....!

조경계에서 말하는 지속 가능한 프로그램 개발이군요.
이번에 기획하시는 건 "I'm here map"과 시설물 사인보드인가보네요.
멋진 디자인 기대합니다.

소요님 ☺️
정확하십니다^^ 공원 역사와 지도가 담긴 사인보드를 계획하고 있습니다. 차근차근 진행중입니다. 고맙습니다 🙏🏻

우와ㅎㅎ 민트님 조경디자이너이셨군요^^ 나중에 자세히 칼럼 써주시면 좋겠습니다ㅎㅎ

네 본업이 블로깅의 내용으로까지 번져가네요...하하
(직업병인가요?ㅠㅠ)....
facemaker님 응원 얻어 써보겠습니다 ^^

Great to see you running full steem forward with this project. Resteemed and up voted !

I appreciate it @dwolfe! :)

HI Mintvilla
parks in cities are so necessary and I am keen to keep you with your steempark project in anyway I can. Do you have people donating plants to the project - would love to hear more in details - I know there is a lot of interest in urban gardening generally and I reckon there will be people popping out of the woodwork, so to speak, all around Brooklyn to help get involved with this.
You could do with shout out from a big youtuber like Casey Neistat and you would have help POURING in!
Good luck with this project and do let me know if I can help you in any way at all. I am not living in USA but will help from here in Costa Rica any way you want me too.
Have an awesome steemy day!
Following you - needless to say =)

Thank you for your kind words @sallybeth23 ! We've got plant donations from chealsea garden, Javit's Convention Center thus far. I agree that Brooklyn based institutions and organizations can be on board with our project, whether it is an in-kind donation or a design-build work. I'll check out Casey Neistat as well. Thanks for a suggestion!

Where in Costa Rica do you live? I spent 3 months in Monteverde a few years ago. It's truly a beautiful country. Following you as well~ Pura Vida ;)

That's great to hear you are already getting a bunch of support in the area. I live in the South of Costa Rica near the border of Panama. Down a dirt road deep in paradise! haha I haven't visited Monteverde but have seen awesome photos from there. Have a beautiful. day and let me know if I can help your project in any way xx

Casey Neistat is a good human being who has a ton of followers on youtube and he is in NYC so a shoutout from him about your project would be huge for your steempark and huge for steemit all at once!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67334.81
ETH 3235.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64