One of my favorite logos, The logo that saved me from depression that I designed as a freebie thanks to steemit

in #design7 years ago

Logo Mockup.png

Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope and confidence. - Helen Keller

Hey guys, something I really realized is that steemit is great, but what makes steemit so great is all of you, the community. I have no idea if it was intended at the initial idea and design of steemit, but steemit has this wonderful platform wonderful kind hearteded people have gathered to make a great community.

Steemit is this digital ocean of ideas and content with ecosystems and niches all gathered on to one singular platform. And while steemit is vast and far, I believe that if you have enough determination, you can climb to financial freedom and in turn, contribute to make the community stronger. I have devoted myself to the very pursuit.

A month ago, I lost my job, and I faced an edge, where I was scared and discouraged. I'll be the first to admit that I did not make the correct life choices, but I am a firm believer of second chances and second winds. Facing the possibility of being homeless is scary. And I shared my thoughts on it with you all. Then something magical happened..

Steemit saved me, you all, saved me. You all offered me not only a chance to get on my feet, but a chance to thrive, a true second wind.

There were so many things that happened at that time, but one distinctive thing that I remember was @donkeypong sending me a donation of 30.00 SBD, and that really moved me. Shook me to the core actually. In that very moment, I designed a logo for @donkeypong, I want to share that logo with you guys.


The brief

There was no traditional actual brief. I was staring at a blank canvas, trying to think of ways to get out of my situation with being homeless.

I saw a small notification pop up, saying I received SBD from @donkeypong, then the brief suddenly popped in my head.

  • Has to do with Donkeys
  • Has to do with Pongs
  • Modern with my style
  • Scalable Avatar

I knew @donkeypong did not particularly want a logo design, but I still wanted to extend a thank you by designing this composition for him.


The Final

For this particular logo, I did not do any kind of sketching. I actually went into Illustrator and just sort of played with ideas and concepts.

One of the key components for the design was incorporating a donkey. Or rather, setting the frame work for a Donkey. Donkeys are actually quite interesting animals. One of the more distinctive features that donkeys have are their ears and Sizes.

So I took inspiration from this image where I thought the donkey's ears were pretty cool.

Another key component to the design was incorporating Pong elements. As you guys know, Pong is based off the table tennis. So we had make use of the most distinctive characteristics of table tennis. A paddle and ball.

So, knowing these things, I wanted to pull them together to make a friendly logomark for @donkeypong. The result was actually pretty astetically pleasing.


I have no idea, but this logo really looks fantastic to me, and can easily be functional for multitude for of mediums. I mean, it looks fantastic on a coffee mug.

Overall, the design had no limitations, so my creativity really soared on this one. Unfortunately, it wasn't cordinated at all, but I still wanted to talk about it, because hands down, this is one of my favorite designs that I will share proudly on all of my portfolios. And everytime I look at it, I remember @donkeypong, the community of steemit, and how blessed I am to be here doing work with you all.


Logo Mockup2.png

Well thank you guys for coming around and checking out my work, I truly appreciate everyone who has helped me get this far, and am looking forward to continuing my epic adventure with steemit.

If you guys are interested in my designs, please follow me @malicered, I do logo giveaways, and who knows? Maybe you'll be the next winner of a totally free design!

As always guys, if you could please show some more support by upvoting, commenting and resteeming, I would be eternally grateful to you. I'm an unemployed graphics designer, and I'm totally relying on steemit and freelancing to survive, so every little bit helps me continue producing content and giveaways just like this.

I also want to extend a huge thank you out to my special supporters out there who have been contributing back to me. @Donkeypong, @berniesanders, @gmuxx, @someguy123, @Ausbitbank,@Teamsteem you guys are absolute legends, thank you so much for your support!

Also, another shout out to @rdollarsign, @jonny-clearwater, and @thewineman, my very first clients, please check out their fantastic content, you will not regret it!
Thank you so much steemit, and as always

I <3 STEEMIT

Sort:  

You are so humble, so thankful, and so talented. Glad I was able to help in some small way.

I will always remember you @donkeypong and will always remember the generosity and kindness that you showed me that day. And I will always certainly remember steemit for the rest of my life. I will do everything I can to keep this platform thriving for as long as I live.

so glad that gave you a lift, totally understand that pain of losing an income like that, it can be hard. you seem super talented thou so i think in the long term you will find a great balance again.

Nice logo and also thanks a lot for sharing the story that does with it ! You are right it is a great logo :)

Slowly but surely, I'm returning to my old design self, my prime, and I can feel a major change that steemit is instilling into me, the quality of my work and knowledge is growing, pretty much steemit is making me into a better designer. Thank you very much!

I love it. Great story of what makes Steemit great as well. You actually had the logo printed on a mug ? or is that just a mock-up ?

It's a mockup, but I will be asking @donkeypong permission to maybe get some mugs out just in case people want to get it in honor of him! Thank you very much for the support!

mockup looks great. at the very least get one for yourself to remind you of the chain of events.

Nice logo and story man .
Just one tiny thing from the little i know for graphic design.
Your logo should be look as good in black-white , white-black as coloured .
Maybe a short movement of the eye that is right so that it can be clearly visible ( i am not an expert and my advice is just a thought) .
Keep up !

I'm glad we've had such an effect on you.
It's always a pleasure to help others :)

I hope @donkeypong let's you make that mug, you need it to get your daily dose of caffeine !

Maybe he'll even be tempted into using the logo somewhere himself !

I too love the Steemit community. I'm so happy for you. This logo is really nice too. I am particularly in love with the tapered 'stroke' on the ears. Nice work all around 💙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62500.50
ETH 2936.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59