Completing my Latest Project - Minnow Support Project Logo contribution + T-Shirts you can show off your love for MSP with!

in #design7 years ago (edited)

The art of being happy lies in the power of extracting happiness from common things.

Hello community, I am back from a relatively long break from steemit, about a week. There have been some projects that have taken a good amount of my time, but I'm again getting on track and will be getting content out here regularly again.

I also have some big announcements for the near future so stay tuned for that.

So for this Logo showcase, I'm proud to present my logo contribution for the Minnow Support project. In this post, I'd like to share my design process and drafts to give a bit of insight as to how I got to this final design.

And since this is a contribution for the guys at the Minnow Support project, you'll also be able to get yourself the logo to use as needed.


The brief

I started this project back in 06/29/2017

So, really the way I happened on this project was from my close friend @someguy123, who thought it would be a great idea to reach out to the Minnow Support Project to see if there was a way to contribute my services for the greater good of the community.

I actually found out at the end (do to poor researching I suppose) that this project was also spear headed by @ausbitbank in which whom I really love working with!

In this project, @aggroed was the client. So, I sought conversations to put together a design brief. If you guys don't know @aggroed is the head of the Minnow Support Project, and is actually a Steem Witness. You should really go vote for him if you haven't already

Back to the subject, we agreed that the project should be a logo design.

Goals

  • Should incorporate the mission statement of the Minnow Support Group
  • Should not remind us of Pedogate

Other than that, it was quite free for me to come up with anything as long as the goals were kept.


A Scrapped logo design.


The Drawing Board

So, with the goals in mind, I went on a bit of a journey scouting for inspiration. I found lots of things, but ultimately I knew what the logo should be.

It should be something friendly and welcoming and inviting for anyone. Not just Minnows, not just whales, but for everyone. It should also be reminiscent of what the actual project is: What is Minnow Support Project? Well, A place for smaller steemit users to come together to become one voice or one large vote, or in this case, one large whale.

So the logo should really reflect that. It should show that smaller users can come together to achieve something greater.

At the beginning of my drafting, I thought it was more like, Whales who support smaller users, and that very well may happen in that project, but It was not the core value.

So, I began doing my field notes.

Scribbling and doodling all kinds of ideas and things that may work.

Ultimately, one of the biggest and key inspirations for this composition was the actual logo that they had already.


Original Design by @zeartul
I really liked this design, but I thought that it could be done better to be a lot more functional for the project. As far as the ideas went though, it really did well in reflecting creatively what the Minnow Support Project is all about. Big shout out to the designer who created this, very good work!


The Final

By combining the goals with what visual message I wanted to present, I came up with this logo.

I borrowed heavily on the concept of bringing small minnows together into one whale, but took my own creative approach on it. Additionally, I kept an open mind on how I could make my logo more functional for the Minnow Support project.

This logo can easily be implemented as an avatar or mascot due to the friendly nature. Perhaps can even be used for a bot that is ran by the minnow support project. Perhaps it can be scaled and used as a thumbnail or favicon or used as a seal or badge.

Possibilities are pretty endless with this little guy.

My personal thoughts on this logo. It's friggin cute! Like, it's really friendly and inviting. That's what the Minnow Support project is about. Anyone can join no matter how big or small you are as a member of steemit. You can join together with other users and together you can accomplish something big.

Due to popular demand that I should make tshirts from my designs, If you're interested in getting a custom t-shirt, please message me. I can get you a nice Minnow Support Project t-shirt with your username, and you can pay for it exclusively with SBD or Steem.

The proceeds will help support me and enable me to keep giving out free content to steemit and it's community members. Also, it helps keep me off the streets!

If interested please contact me via Steemit.chat here or My discord Channel

Want a free design on me?

Previous Freebie winner

My next logo giveaway announcement is coming in a matter of days, so this is sort of a PSA for anyone who doesn't know how to get into the entry.

I draw 10 names at random, starting from the 1st to 10th I will announce that they will be eligible to claim a logo from me within 24 hours, if they don't I will move on to the next drawn name and they will have 24 hours to claim and so on and so forth.

1 Resteem = 2 name entries
1 Upvote = 1 name entry
1 Comment = 1 name entry

The more entries you have, the more chances you have of having your name drawn.

If you're wondering why I use this system, it's because for the first 3 giveaways, I was drawing names and no one was claiming them, which threw everything off. So now, really only people who want this giveaway will be able to have a good chance of getting one.

So, if you missed it, here's your last shot in getting a chance to win a free logo design from me.


Really Like what I do?

If you really like my design style and you need a project or two in need of a graphics designer, I am available to commission and hire. And I proudly accept SBD and STEEM. I do graphical design for logos, imagemarks, and branding, as well as infographics, posters and business cards.

If interested please contact me via Steemit.chat here or My discord Channel

Want to help me?

My freebie giveaways are 100% free, if you'd like to help me out, feel free to donate as every single cent counts and helps me maintain my online presence and motivates me to do more freebies and giveaways. Every single upvote, penny, re-steem is eternally appreciated and allows me to work on developing my passions for the betterment of steemit.

Contributors:

I want to extend a huge thank you out to my special supporters out there who have been contributing back to me. @Donkeypong, @berniesanders, @gmuxx, @someguy123, @Ausbitbank, @Teamsteem you guys are absolute legends, thank you so much for your support!

Also, please vote for @ausbitbank, and @someguy123 as witnesses, these guys really help the community and steemit can definitely benefit from them rising up the witness rank! Seriously! Go vote right now!

And as always, I want to extend a big thank you to everyone who's supported my blog, all of you guys, really without you, none of this would be possible. You guys are the best, every single one of you, and remember, stay positive and things will always work out!

Thank you all, and I LOVE YOU STEEMIT!

Sort:  

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 6.89 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @zeartul.

i like the design! great work :)

Thanks alot! I really appreciate it!

It's great, yours is a lot more friendly. Upvoted!

it sure is.

I got a bellyRub and this comment has received a 6.89 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @zeartul.

Great effort!! You have been chosen for todays super happy lucky resteem!

I have been chosen!

:)

I want one so badly!! I absolutely love this logo!!!! Great post, I really like how you showed start to finish including your idea board/paper :) It is obvious that you really worked hard on this and the final logo really shows this!! GREAT job - I see your talen :) I have upvoted and resteemed - hoping to be one of the top 10. I love you steemit friend..SUNSHINE247

Thank you so much @sunshine247! ^_^ It really warms my heart to see such beautiful energy directed towards my work, it truly honestly is. I'm honestly honored that you would want this t-shirt, let me see if I can find someone who's willing to donate to get some of these shirts out for free. If I can, you'll be the first on the list for sure!

YEA!!!!! That would be GREAT :) How exciting is this ..SUNSHINE247

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

great work minnow team . Great work

t-shirt design was awesome... I want to buy one for me ...

Hey thanks so much, I'm so humbled that you like the design so much, If you'd like to buy a t-shirt, I'd be more than happy to get you started on that, just message me on steemitchat @malicered or discord!

You're right the new design is really cute!

I am vary much thankful for your project because in this project you took care of minnows. Logo is also vary cute.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78