Upcycling – Taking It From Oh No To Oh My!

in #design7 years ago

fafwf.png

Hello Lovies, it’s been over a week since we have connected. I’ve been as busy as a little bee working on upcycling and organization projects as well as planning a little get-away for me and the hubs and all of the exciting things it takes to help with the sending my granddaughter off to her first prom. Whew!!! it’s been busy around here. But I made time for a little Upcycling – Taking It ‘Oh No’ to ‘Oh My’.

Through it all, I have spent a few minutes here and there upcycling a few pieces. I have a stash of “waiting to be upcycled” stuff that has to be twiddled down because my friends are continually bringing me things (jars, bottles, trays, you name it) to upcycle. I am running out of storage space and need to complete some of the projects and get them up for sale. You can find many of my crafts and upcycles in my Craft Boutique on my site. I am also thinking of opening an Etsy shop. Stay tuned for that.

I have done similar projects before. You can find one such project here. First things first, you will need to clean your jars and remove all labels.

afwfa.png

What you will need:

Empty jars

Craft Paint (I used Chalk Paint)

Napkin (I have several sources for napkins)

Decoupage Glue (I used Mod Podge Matte)

Sponge Brushes

Rubbing Alcohol

Clean rag or paper towel

Matte Varnish

Plastic Wrap

Process:

Paint the jar the color/colors of your choice and allow to dry thoroughly (this may require 2 coats)

Choose your napkin and separate it from the backing (some are 2-ply others 3-ply) Separate until all you are left with is the picture (1 ply)

Position the napkin where you want it to go on the jar, bottle, etc

Begin applying the decoupage glue from the center of the napkin moving toward the edges (apply enough to secure the napkin without saturating)

Allow to dry thoroughly (around 30 minutes)

Once dry, apply a second coat of decoupage glue

Allow to dry thoroughly

Apply a thin coat of matte varnish

Allow to dry thoroughly (may take up to 3 hours)

Apply a second coat of matte varnish

Although the process is the same for this project as it is for any that I paint and decoupage, the finished products are always unique and different as is the case with hand-made items.

his is a view of the back of the jar.

These little beauties would make great gifts for teachers. There are so many uses for these jars. Abd because I have kept and painted the tops, you can fill them with goodies and give as gifts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41