Concrete Wood Floor in Basement - Water is No Issue!

in #design7 years ago

Concrete Wood 12 - Narberth, PA.jpg

I install and train others to install decorative concrete flooring for a living. One of the things I really wanted to do here on Steemit was share our many awesome projects with you guys. Hopefully you'll find some inspiration for your own home projects down the road, and I if you guys want to gush over how awesome my work is, I'll try not to let it go to my head...too much.

To that end, given this is my first post showcasing some of our former projects, I figured I would hold myself in check a little a share a concrete wood floor that my friend had to install by himself.

This was a couple years ago when I was still travelling 2 hours from my hometown to Philadelphia, PA whenever there was a project to work on, sleeping on the shop floor or crashing on the owner's couch at night. On the way home from one such project, I was in an accident where I t-boned an SUV flipping it (no small feat given I was in a Ford Taurus). I was proud that, while I was at fault for the accident, my response was to immediately kick open my busted door and climb into the SUV, which was flipped onto it's hood, pulling out the mother and her roughly 10 year old son.

Both vehicles were totaled but I escaped unscathed by the accident apart from some glass in my knee from crawling into the other car. Unfortunately, the doctors couldn't remove the glass after an hour of digging around so I had to go under the knife to remove the foreign bodies. This lead to some downtime and, for my friend, a rather stressful solo install.

Now, this particular system isn't difficult to install. Most steps aren't a rush at all, unlike some of the other types of floor resurfacing we do. The toughest part for him was laying out the plank design, which we do by tape. He had to lay out one end and hold the tape down with heavy buckets while placing the other side. I'm sure it took quite a bit longer than usual, as this is typically a pretty fast step with two people.

Luckily, the project still came out great and many more concrete wood floors would follow. Now this customer has the look of a hardwood floor in her basement, where a real hardwood floor would have been at risk of warping from moisture. Check out the before and after picture!

~B&A.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my first project showcase. There will be many more. Please leave feedback on what information you would like to see in future posts or to expound on how amazing the work is (since this one wasn't my work, I won't let it go to my head).

Want to learn more about these incredible systems and how to get trained for free as an installer? Head to The Concrete Protector of Philadelphia website and, of course, follow me for more articles about my projects, investing in stocks and crypto (coming soon) and other weird news stories!

Sort:  

Hello, jae5086. What a great blog post. Steem is beautiful because of steemers like you. I am following, resteeming and upvoting.

Welcome to Steemit! I'm happy you could join us.
Hope this Quick Start Guide will help you: https://www.steemithelp.net/
Stay Creative > Stay Original > Steemit Daily.
george-carlin-WELCOME.gif

Thanks, it means a lot to hear you say that. Love this community and looking forward to what the future holds! Following you too.

This is a community like no other, @jae5086 and that's because of the platform and how Ned and Dan set it up.
We came to the right place at the right time because we're about to have it all

SteemQ > youtube
Busy > facebook
Zappl > twitter
Steepshot > instagram
Viva> Debit Card that uses Steem
Steemit > reddit


All aboard! Buckle UP! Powered by Steem


giphy (4).gif

TO THE MOON AND BEYOND

Excellent work dear friend @ jae5086 I congratulate you for your excellent prophecy, thank you very much for sharing this magnificent material

Thanks for the kind words!

Love it I built houses for years ...thumbs up ...

I like your post. Great job too. Just started on this platform and have been looking for others that do flooring work. Keep up the great job. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47