Designing my own Lamp

in #design7 years ago (edited)

In this post i will show you how i made this lamp for my own

IMG_8018_88f9fee9e085843669a1ce02c8af398b.jpg

Because I love Neon Signs but they are really difficult to make and very expensive i looked for a cheaper way to make my own sign. In December 2015 I started playing around with EL Wire, also known as Electroluminescent wire.

elwireblue-247x300.jpg

When an AC signal is applied to it, it glows an aqua (blue green) color. It looks a little like thin neon. Very bendable, it keeps its shape and you can curl it around your finger. It's an easy way to add some glow to a project, not as bright as LEDs but uses a lot less power and it's portable.

I wanted to make a wall design for my room so I designed this fox out of black painted cardboard
IMAGE 2017-06-30 22:45:54.jpg

Two years later for my bachelor thesis I designed a whole website for the fox lamp as a product. I improved the EL Wire with a remotable LED strip which lasts longer and has a lot more colors to offer. I also took an aluminium plate to mill the fox out of it with a CAD Milling.

Here are some shots of the manufacturing and the final product

Fraese.jpg

The big CAD Milling

IMG_8162.jpg

Fuchs_fraesen2.jpg

Direct milling from aluminium

IMG_1385.JPG

IMG_8317.jpg

Painting the aluminium framework

IMG_8300.jpg

Finally detail shot

Tag_Nacht2.jpg

The lamp by day and by night.

Grey_Fox.jpg

Final product shot.

For more pictures and videos like this post and follow my account @finkistinger
also follow me on Instagram

Sort:  

inspiring - the quality looks superior to the carving process of a macbook air ;)

Great ^_^

Looks awesome man! You should think about branding & selling it!
I leave you a follow & upvote! :)

Great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45