✏️ Logo Design Process: The Blacksmith's Touchmark

in #design7 years ago (edited)

stamp.jpg

My girlfriend's father is a blacksmith. He had no touchmark to stamp his finished creations (mostly knives and tools) in order to "sign" them, so I took it upon myself to design him a logo. We had a touch mark stamp made for him and we recently received it. I am very happy with the results

His favorite poem is "The Village Blacksmith" by Longfellow which begins with the stanza:

Under a spreading chestnut-tree
The village smithy stands;
The smith, a mighty man is he,
With large and sinewy hands;
And the muscles of his brawny arms
Are strong as iron bands.

He also has a Chestnut tree outside of his smithy in North Carolina, so I took inspiration from that and set to work, making a number of small quick sketches using acorns, chestnut leaves, and his initials "T.C."

sketch.jpg

I then refined and combined the strongest ideas and some typography into a simple, icon-like vector logo using adobe illustrator. I couldn't get too complex because this needed to be able to fit on the blade of a knife and be stamped into metal after-all!
logo-small.jpg

We then sent off this file to a blacksmith supply company to do their magic and a few weeks later, a touch mark stamp arrived in the mail. Dad is all ready to sign his work!
stamp2.jpg

I'm very happy with the end result and so is my girlfriend's dad. It's always a good thing when you can impress the parent of the one you love 😉

2017-08-21.jpg

If you'd like me to help design something, please leave a reply and let me know!

Thanks for checking me out. Keep up the good fight!
DQmfQQfJb3ELZK9RxZkJ9KYQGf8AGvxB6R1wa68A4HoA9eP.gif

Sort:  

I really like it! Simple and well balanced.

Thanks! I was very happy it turned out so well.

Congratulations @ehzi-dehve! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is awesome, very nice design. One of the things I really want to learn is knife-making, but I'm such a dilettante that I've so much other things I'm still learning lol. Maybe in 10 years.

Well may you live long and get to learn all the stuff you'd like!

Wow! Very nice design! Glad her papa liked it! I like it too!

That came out really nice, Im sure he is Thrilled.

Thank you! I think I might've earned a point or two with the old man :)

Upvote & Follow ! ;)

Great post
Kindly follow me

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Congratulations @ehzi-dehve! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm in the middle of writing/drawing a graphic novel. For some reason I have a mental block when it comes to drawing logos, so I'll be following your stuff on logo design (and other design stuff you do). I ain't going to be done with this for a year. But I'm glad there is someone I can reach out to for advice on here. I want some sort of Electricsheeple logo. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64690.76
ETH 3423.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51