Urban Treehouse - Imagining What Could Be Next Door!

in #design7 years ago

LES-cover.jpg

LES treehouse sketch.JPG

Imagining A New Type of Building

A couple of years ago I was looking out of my apartment window to a deserted plot of land on Norfolk Street in the Lower East Side in New York City. Almost immediately, I started imagining what could be built there. It seemed like there was a huge opportunity to do something cool and special in that space. The neighborhood is filled with bars, music venues, restaurants, clubs, galleries and other places like that. I figured it would make sense to create the ultimate venue space with the plot.



LES treehouse2-nobuidings.jpg

LES treehouse2-sketchoverlay.jpg

Sketching the Idea

I started sketching how this building could potentially come to life. I had seen a few different strange occurrences on the plot of land that inspired some of the design. There was at one point a pickup basketball game on a portable hoop. Another time there was a movie screening where the movie was projected onto the wall of the building next to mine. These unusual uses of the space inspired the design of what I would create next. I wanted to preserve the land on the ground floor, maybe turning it into a park or garden for the community. The footprint of the building would be smaller, mainly an entrance point or lobby. The building would then be a circle to have views out in every direction and to fit nicely against the rigid buildings surrounding. The floors would alternate between open garden and interior venue, only connected by an elevator and staircase. Each floor could be used for separate venues or all as one. The rooftop is a large garden and lookout point as well.



LES treehouse3.jpg

Urban Treehouse Is Born

After a bit of photoshopping we get a little glimpse at what this could potentially look like in the space. I love how the building elevates out of the garden. There is as much garden space throughout the building as there is on the ground floor. If you've read my posts in the past or will follow in the future, you’ll see that this idea of integrating public and park space throughout buildings is a common theme. New York needs it, trust me.



LES treehouse3-night.jpg

A Building for the Neighborhood

The building could really be a spectacle at night. I’m picturing a lot of exciting events happening here. There is a large amount of outdoor space and venue space inside as well, so it should serve a number of different purposes. The building would probably attract a special events seekers or those wanting a unique experience in the Lower East Side.

I love this neighborhood because of the incredible history and I see so much potential in the future with real estate development and property values. I’m guessing a brick apartment building or trendy, rectangular all-glass lofts will be going in here sometime in the next few years, but at least we can imagine something a little more fun in the meantime! Doesn’t hurt to dream.



Ciao for now, Steemians.

- Weston (aka @design-guy)

follow-design-guy.gif

Sort:  

Beautifull design ! Are you an architect?

Thanks @killuminati I studied architecture and worked for a years at a large architecture firm in New York. Now I have my own design studio also in NYC

Very nice concept! keep it up!

I love your urban treehouse, beats any loft style apartment! Great to see your sketching as well.

This is so cool. I like that we can see it at night and during the day.

Congratulations @design-guy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice work dude! I like seeing the before and after with the sketch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48