Introducing DCreative idea - Graphic design | Freelance | Self-Actualization and more!

in #design5 years ago (edited)

So, why DCreative?

Because I've wanted a blog username that will encapsulate a pretty wide yet related set of topics and goals which I'll cover in a second. It certainly doesn't have to do anything with personal narcissism.

With that being said, my actual name is Filip Topolovec and I come from Croatia. I've recently finished my master's degree in Media Design with the main focus on graphic design. Since graduation, my goal was to define what am I gonna focus on for the next decade.

We live in a digital era of constantly increasing opportunities, changing trends, loads of confusion due to overdosing with information and lack of focus on things that actually matter to us, things which make us unique. It is likely that these same circumstances affect many more individuals besides myself, making us indecisive, paralyzed and at last forcing us to fit inside few predefined boxes popularized by the mainstream community. For me, that severely limits human potential.    

Here are 3 steps that helped me define my path for the future:

1. What have I accomplished so far? 

I've finished my formal education, had work experience as a graphic and web designer, boosted my communication, time management and organization skills, watched days of video content related to graphic design and business strategy, presented my work on exhibitions, done public contests, etc.     

2. What am I passioned about?

  • Branding and visual identity design
  • Problem-solving
  • Coming up with new ideas
  • Progress in general
  • Financial freedom
  • Self-actualization
  • Psychology and Spiral Dynamics model

These are actually topics DCreative will be focusing on.    

3. I've asked my friends and colleagues what they see as my top talents/strengths

  • Good organization
  • Time management
  • Problem solving and analysis
  • Reliability
  • Diplomacy
  • Systematic approach
  • Discipline

Answers that came to me didn't help me much at first because it seemed that my passion list was too scattered around different fields. I've been stuck in analysis paralysis, unable to choose which field am I gonna specialize in. Is it going to be a graphic design, web design or maybe life coaching, psychology?

I've again missed the point and fell right into a pre-programmed sociological trap. Why force specialization over passions in the first place? Why not stick with everything that interests you and try to make something out of it? In this way, the list will automatically filter itself and only the most important stuff will stick.   

DCreative solution for many passions 

So, in this blog I'll cover topics about graphic design and projects I do, improvement processes and challenges, problem-solving, ideas and plans about how to achieve a financial freedom with utilizing decentralized platform as Steem and working on various digital products - I'll do my best to test and document as much as I can so others could learn from it too. Blog also serves to me as some kind of social contract, a bold pronouncement that will keep me on this path.

Second part of DCreative is about testing idea where I'll give open invitation to community to send me graphic design project which I'll do for free, post a blog about the strategy and design process so same community can have use of it, and in return utilize Steem voting and commenting system as a reward for that work.   

Wrapping it up 

Starting a blog is a new and exciting experience for me because I have a strong desire for nourishing and growing a personal project that'll journal my progress and at the same time help others. If needed, a regular job will always wait somewhere for me. But for now, I've decided to stick with spreading DCreative idea :)

What do you think about DCreative idea?
Resteem if you like it and support with a vote!

Writing you soon. Peace.  

Sort:  

Welcome dcreative!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome dcreative!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59189.63
ETH 2650.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42