Process of digital art! A simple example, my poke combination!

in #design7 years ago

Morning, STEEMers!

Today I want to present to you a character design that I did for my little sister. The idea was to create a combination of 2 pokemon. I decided to combine Pikachu with Gastly since she likes the electric wiesel. I drew a lot of combination possibilities until I ended with the one in the first image. I never start to draw in Illustrator or Photoshop without drawing on paper first, just to get a better seance of what I want the final work to look like.

IMG_20170809_192908.jpg

After drawing the character on papaer I went into Illustrator and started creating, merging, deleting shapes. I got this result.

GACHU.jpg
Most people use the paper version to trace the lines. I don't do that because I usually end up with a better version by drawing it again in Illustrator. You get new ideas, you might even end up drawing from a different view, or pose the character differently.

I went on to coloring the character, called him "Gachu" BTW, and adding the black lightning bolts. I did the lightning bolts by randomly moving my arm on the graphic tablet in short strokes.
GACHU COLORAT 3.jpg

For the final result I used Photoshop to add the background, the glow of the lightning bolts and Squirtle.

GACHU COLORAT 2.jpg

Best regards,
Your fellow STEEMer,
Valentin

Take the time to be the best you can be!

Sort:  

Upvoted. Read my blog and upvote me. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68518.46
ETH 3760.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66