Birthday Gift Card. Cartoonish Process.

in #design6 years ago

Stefan_cartoon.png

Hi everybody I hope all of you be fine with excellent state of health and having a great week. For today I would like to share a commissoned work: birthday card for Stefan. As an artist, I really like characterize people and made then as a cartoon. It is a challenge make them really recognizable and they can feel identify with one illustration.

In this post I am going to show how was the proces for this birthday gift card. Here is Stefan the person that going to receive the gift. This illustration most be recognizable. Who commissoned me this Project told me that Stefan is a passioned to ride on bicycle, in fact he goes to the job and comes to home on it. Also he Works in telecomunications and is fan of gadget and technological tools. This aspects should be in the illustration.

stefan_reference.jpg

Step 1. Sketch and Ink process
Generally in this process I made a simple skecth as a reference, but in this illustration I combine the sketch and the ink process in one step (because the style of drawing that client want is an illustration with clear and strong drawing lines). Here I made accurated drawing. In this step I asked the feedback of client and I made the tournaround until reach the right character cartoon. Cliente gave me the Ok.

stefan_illustration_process_1.png

Step 2. Coloring Base
In this step the sketch layer be in front and color layers below it, I applied each color in separate layers. In this step I only fill with plane color each area of main character.

stefan_illustration_process_2.png

Step 3. Shading and Light Colors
After complete the base color I added shadows and lights into each color base layer.

stefan_illustration_process_3.png

Step 4. Ink layer with gradient color
Something that I am try to use in my last works is add gradient colors into ink layer. This is an effect that can looks softer main character. I am not too comfortable with this step, but I am trying to investigate another ways to make a digital illustration.

stefan_illustration_process_4.png

Step 5. Background and details.
At this point, I decided to change main character direction and I fliped the character on the oposite side running toward to the dawn. I made a beautiful universe with star, Saturno and artificial satellites. Also a congratulation text is designed on top to the card. This was the art that I delivered to client to be approved.

stefan_illustration_process_5.png

Step 6. Tournaround
The client gave me final feedback. Is natural that sometimes is neccesary to make some ajustment to reach a better art. Client asked me to made Stefan thinner and change colors, add some gadget tools and shoes updates. The final text was change too. I took the opportunity to work a Little bit the background color with more contrast. Finally it is done! I think this art improved a lot with final ajustment. What do you think? This vertion is better than last?

stefan_illustration_process_6.png

Next I would like to show a animated ".gif" about this cartoonish process

proceso_ilustracion_stefan.gif

If you like my post and you want to support my art, upvote me or reesteemit. I really apreciate all your feedbacks and opinions. Thank you so much to check my post and enjoy it. Also if you would like to see more of my work, follow me at instagram: https://www.instagram.com/abrahmatan/

Copyright @abrahmatan - All Rights Reserved
Media: Adobe Photoshop

Sort:  

Great work, @abrahmatan! You never cease to amaze me! 😀

Thank you @trincowski I am really glad that you like it! Thanks to follow my work process! Its mean a lot.

Nice work, some of us are artists and others not, like me :(

Thanks! I am sure that you are artist as well. You apply creative mind with your photographs, all we are artist in different fields :)

This is some good creative work, properly illustrated.

So I am going to feature it in the next Xposed Curator's Rebound #31. You may find details about it Xposed Curator's Rebound

My hope is to bring your quality work here the exposure it deserves, and with it, hopefully some additional rewards.


Congratulations, and best wishes.

That's awesome! I'll give this post a little help, too!

Thanks a Billion, @trincowski for following up on @abrahmatan, Much appreciated.

I am glad that @trincowski and @mirrors are supporting each others. It is something great! Here on steemit are a lot of things that I do not know how does it work. But step by step I am going to know how to grow and how to help others users.

That is a good spirit. I am glad.

Thanks @mirrors for your wonderful support. I really appreciate. :)

The pleasure is mine. Such work as this deserves to be recognized. I wish there was more i could do!

Anyway, just keep up wit such creative and quality works, and rewards will come, i am sure.

Uao!! thanks for your words. It mean a lot to me. Yes I am sure this work will recognized. We should not feel anxious to be succesfull, it will comes naturally when we make what we likes with pacience and constancy. Again thanks @mirrors

You are welcome @abrahmatan. Glad you have a pretty good idea of what it takes.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Trincowski from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you! I really apprecite it! :)

Amazing drawing! Great job!

I am glad that we are follow each creative process and supporting each other. Thanks you @sweettais

Hello @abrahmatan, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55