DESIGN THINKING TO THE WORLD

A few weeks ago, my journey as an entrepreneur took an interesting turn. A turn that led me to what turned out to be a life changing experience. Let me tell you how it all began.

It all started when I learnt about what is called the "ACT Entrepreneurship Program" , a design thinking and entrepreneurship development program held annually in Zimbabwe. After going through the Program's website, I was immediately hooked and I applied to be a part of it. As grace would have it, I was selected to be a part of the 2017 cohort and I was poised for the experience of my life. Although at the time, I did not have a full appreciation of what I had signed up for nor did I realize that this experience would leave me a changed man and a better business man.

But it did not take long however for me to realize that the next 3 weeks would be thrilling and unforgettable. On the very first day, my colleagues and I were introduced to the design thinking process, a genius and creative way of solving problems. A way of thinking that changed everything. From understanding, defining, ideating to testing. From assumptions all the way to validations. From observations, interviews, prototyping to pitching. And how could I forget the bitter sweet feedback sessions along the way. I know I speak for many of my colleagues when I say that this program and the design thinking process opened up my mind to a whole new world, perspective and way of thinking. My paradigm about entrepreneurship and how to go about it as been revolutionized. I learned priceless lessons, made new friends and identified potential business partners. It was an extraordinary 3 weeks to say the least.

I strongly believe that design thinking should be taught to all entrepreneurs if we as a nation and as a continent are to catch up to the rest of the world. I for one have taken it upon myself to share the knowledge that I have gained from the ACT Program and I hope others will follow suit. We have been empowered with knowledge that can help us make a real difference and it is our obligation to to make it count in our own lives and in those of others. To aspiring and upcoming entrepreneurs, I urge you to look into design thinking, I promise you that it will change your life!

I would like to extend a special tribute to these ladies and gentlemen for making my ACT Program a memorable one.
Henri (The visionary), Irene( The superwoman who made everything flow), Chenai (without you this program would not have been the same)

Praveen, Kate, Sampada, Senthuran, Yi, Dan, Zac, Sabastian, thank you for sharing your knowledge with us.

To the Program's corporate partner, Innscor Africa, thank you for the opportunity you afforded us to learn from you.

Last but not least the team itself you guys rock!
Tawanda, Gilbert, Nhlanhla, Evangelista, Clever, Tafadzwa, Wilbrod, Tinashe, Clive, Guide, Tariro, Munyaradzi, Praise, Chenesai, Angela, Lewis, Dave, Dr. Tafadwa, Sheena, Leanne, Rufaro, Clint, Tofara, Wadzanai

IMG_20170708_191919.jpg

Sort:  

Exciting team @wamushakwe . Hope to see your ideas growing :) keepit up

thank you, we will

It's good to gain experience on entrepreneurship. I will be keen to gain details on ACT programmes. However when I get relevant resources I will enroll too. I want to learn a lot on entrepreneurship and become one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56