A Moment In The Life of Sgt. Napa

in #descriptive7 years ago

The bullet pierced my co-pilot underneath the left eye after cracking the windshield glass like ice on a cold winter lake. I lean over to check his pulse. I feel no heart beat. As I wipe a lonely tear off my pale cold face. The sound of an explosion brings me back to reality. Without panicking I let go of the yoke (plane steering wheel) and quickly scavenge in the emergency cabinet for a parachute. After finding the parachute I look around and see a fire raging out of the control panel. I realize at that moment that there are things worse than having your general spitting in your face. Remembering my training I jump back into my seat and pull the burning hot eject lever. I get launched into the sky like the bomb that hit my plane minutes ago. I glare down at my doomed plane wondering if I would see the light in my beautiful wife's eyes ever again. Louder and louder the rattle of gunshots grows. I can taste adrenalin. i get closer to the ground. seconds later the ground approaches. I hit the ground close to a trench. I dive in without thinking. seeing the Canadian flag on one of the dead soldiers uniforms I knew I was safe. the thick smell of dead soldiers fills the tight trench. I look closer at the dead soldiers and there are gaping holes in their heads and bits of skull at the bottom of the trench. This is the work of a very high caliber bullet. this can only mean one thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56482.82
ETH 3004.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21