Stopping Negative Thoughts

in #depression6 years ago (edited)

This is my very first post to Steemit and I am very grateful that they have allowed me on to their platform.

I'm still not 100% sure how this all works but I'm sure through time I will.

I wish to share with you a book that I strongly feel has helped alleviate my depression that has strangled me for most of my 35 years on this planet including a failed over-dose attempt back in 2008.

Tao Te Ching (the Book of the Way) came into my life around six months ago almost right after losing my job which hit me hard. It's a simple book with one page chapters which pretty much touches all aspects of life's mysteries.

Whenever I feel a 'low' coming on or thinking negatively, I always pick up the book to help me gain my perspective again.

Since reading the book I have learned to take care of myself a whole lot better and more importantly to love myself. Not in terms of vanity but more so having complete respect for the complicated make up of the human body.

Six months ago I weighed 224lbs. Today I weigh 168lbs. I cut out a lot of 'junk' food and feel fitter for it.

The book has helped put a past I found hugely embarrassing because of my mental health firmly in the past. I'm not perfect but I'm OK with that.

In June of this year, it will mark the tenth anniversary of my failed suicide bid and it's honestly a crazy feeling to actually love life. I remain jobless but for once in my life I feel at peace and incredibly calm.

I sincerely hope this helps anyone who suffers from any type of depression. I am planning on writing here on a regular basis in the hopes it can help.

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. I wish you all peace.

Have a very cool day!

Below is the opening chapter from the book.

taopic.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58630.93
ETH 2517.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35