My Robin Williams Digital PortraitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #depression7 years ago

Damn I wish I didn't lose my high res file of this.. but heres a portrait I made of Robin Williams after his passing.

What surprised me a lot about his passing was actually on my Facebook feed where I saw many people mention how does a happy and funny guy like Robin take his life(which I think now might not have been the case?) . I was kinda shocked that people had zero clue that people with depression actually go about hiding their depression as much as possible. It just always shows me how little people know about depression and how much needs to be spread about it.

I used to be like this and my way to hiding/dealing with depression was to try to make other people laugh. That was the best thing I could do to someone and it would help me at least momentarily forget about my depression. I wish I could be that person again.

robinpsychedelicastronaut.jpg

Sort:  

Nice job my friend! I can't believe that he is gone already but I knew about his fight with depression or should I say what social media feed us about it. He was truly amazing actor and wise man and at least we have all those great movies with him. And coming back to you work... I'm really impress, could you tell more which technique you used exactly for it?

Well I think now they said he struggled with depression and a ton of other things but there was another major type of disorder he had , something related I think to Dementia that sent him over the edge, but we will never know for sure, either way it's sad.

Thanks!!! Hmm...well this was done 3 years ago..problem is I struggle with depression and I get into these alternative states of mind and sometimes I forget how I did stuff..like if you see my artwork your going to see that I have a ton of different styles..Sometimes I use a mix of my iPad and photoshop. From what I can remember I use blocks of colors, then I sometimes will take textures similar to pictures and blend them all together and then maybe use smudge brushes and other paint brushes to delete/add color.

And sometimes many of these older designs might of been done under the influence so I don't have a general how to..it sucks when I want to mimic my styles sometimes and the first one comes out awesome and then everyone after this is kinda shitty..which is usually the reverse way..usually people build up to certain styles where as I am sometimes the reverse...

But this was def a lot of layers and texture build up and erasing, thats for sure.

Absolutely wonderful. He was an inspiration to me, and I miss his presence among us. Excellent homage!

Thanks! Yeah he just had that great outward personality, super energetic!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 3.19 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @fractalizer. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

A very nice portrait!! I love Robin Williams and I was very surprised, like the rest of the world, that he had such a battle with depression. RIP Mr Williams. We miss you :( Thanks you for sharing!

Thanks!!! Yeah he actually had a lot of battles and when those battles just build up mentally its like a crazy world you can't escape.

That's so sad. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59561.47
ETH 3012.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77