Depression(kinda)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #depression7 years ago

imageproxy.jpeg

Many people ask and wonder if depression exists.
Quick answer: It does, probably as much as you do.

I know, I know... You're probably thinking...

10035844.jpg

Don't get me wrong, it exists as much as we make it. Most people feel a little sad and go into a downward spiral. They become poets writing masterpieces about how someone cut the line and it made them feel terrible. I think we'd all agree we sometimes make things seem more drastic than they usually are. I'm not here to bash anyone or tell you how your depression is as a result of your weak mind and lack of willpower over your thoughts, I want to share experiences with dealing with life's pitfalls that if I didn't look at positively would have dropped me in a pool of depression.

1. Feelings are meant to be felt
Society will get your mind in a knot about how you need to react or behave(for men specifically).
It's okay to feel sad.
It's okay to shed a tear or two.
Now! feel your feelings, process them and move on! It's hard and it takes time and practice but that's okay, you've got your whole life to get it right. No rush!
There's no point in dragging on feelings that are only holding you back. If you're having problems letting go, talk to someone. You were born alone but you don't have to live alone you know.

2. Find an outlet
It's really important to find something that just drains all your bad vibes. After performing this you should feel fresh and new. Ready to take on the world! I feel this is extremely important as I know this works like magic for me.
My outlet? music! The right song gives me so much relief. This is probably why I listen to music so much.

If you're like me or you're not and would like to try out music as an outlet here are a few artists I recommend:

PSA You don't necessarily have to listen to them, I'm only sharing them because they're amazing artists. You see the thing with music is that you have to selective, don't go listening to love songs after a heartbreak!

If the music isn't your thing you can write about it, sing, gym, cook. Bottomline is it's really important to find an outlet. Sorry, I tilted so much towards music, it's really important to me.

3. Don't be afraid to talk to someone
Like I said above, even though you were born alone, you don't have to live alone.
"But. But", yeah I know, humans are annoying!
b752506a715019c08f0db27f2aeffe589d74c894aa5b28ad4e9624ea5e26b783.jpg

Talk to a friend or a dog just get it out or it'll kill you slowly.
Like Shrek said "Better out than in!" Don't be afraid to let it out. I promise you'll feel better.

PSA If you know anyone going through anything, be there for them. Don't judge them and listen. Help them, it might just be you in the same situation one day.

Hope this helps someone through some tough times. Here's a track by Alison Wonderland that really helped me some tough times. It's called 'U Don't Know' it talks about how its okay to feel down and how we shouldn't let others be our sources of happiness( At least that's what I got, haha).

Hope you enjoyed reading this.
Good day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61204.65
ETH 2452.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58