A beginning

in #depression6 years ago

In seems strange that on one of my hardest days my steemit account is activated. My plan all along was to have an honest, raw account of depression as it happens. I have thought about this for a long time. What gains could I possibly have to share my journey? After all many people suffer from depression, what makes me so different? I can’t answer that. This may be little more than an outlet for my overthinking, over complicated mind. However even if one person reads this and realises they are not alone, even if only one person gets a brief glimpse of understanding of depression; a topic despite being more socially accepted is still ridiculed with shame. Many people still feel that they are only allowed to suffer from depression if they do so quietly and behind closed doors. I am neither of these.
So where does this lead us? To ramblings as I try and share my darkest times and hope that by doing so, by being so open and honest about depression that I am playing a small part in making sure acceptance of this invisible illness is genuine.

Sort:  

I personally find writing to be cathartic, especially during challenging times.

I stumbled across your account well past the pay-out time of your post so I encourage you to write again so that I can see your posts when an upvote actually means something. :)

Welcome to Steemit. Your friend @ratticus mentioned you in one of his posts so I wanted to stop by and say hi.

Thanks mazzle. I've recently moved house and have a computer set up again so going to bite the bullet as they say and write again.

Absolutely. Looking forward to seeing your work.

Hey! Hope the days have gotten easier since the account was activated :)

They go up and down. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56