Why do we suffer?

in #depression6 years ago (edited)

The article reminds me of my thoughts when I am depressed. I've been fairly down lately, because I gave up pot. I love pot more than anything on the planet, and that's why I gave it up. You could say that I am seeking the middle path, but I'm not sure I understand that. Life is endless strife, which is a blessing in disguise, for there is no growth without struggle. And that's why we are here; to grow. The physical world is an illusion. This life is an illusion. None of it matters. Love is all that matters. And pot was keeping me in isolation and egotistical. It was hindering my growth by allowing me to shut off my emotions for the rest of the world. It is a blessing to feel. It often feels like a curse, but our ability to have empathy is what sets us apart from other animals. Seeking the truth is an excerise in futility, for we will never find it while we are in this physical form. There is a power structure that keeps us enslaved, and it's always been there. And though we may get depressed, and see many truths that are hidden to most, we have it so good. Being a US citizen is a blessing comparitively speaking. Being alive in this era is a blessing comparitively speaking. Can you imagine the horrors that people had to face in the past? It's all so foreign to me, that I hardly can imagine it. The brutality our ancestors had to suffer through boggles my mind. Slavery, crucifixion, ancient warfare, disease, endless persecution... We've got it so good compared to the past or compared to other nations. But we still get depressed, because we allow ourselves to feel. And by allowing ourselves to feel our pain and the pain of others, we become enlightened. We realize that we don't want to harm anyone or get over on anyone. We learn to love, which is the true essence of God. So the pain is not without reason.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52