Lonely??

in #depression7 years ago




I run a Supper Club for adults. It is not a dating site, but we have already had one hookup in the first three weeks which apparently has already destroyed a marriage. Its not the best advertisement we could have to come along if you are married.

Anyone is allowed to join and in an effort to find new members, I have followed several dating sites on Facebook, and been trawling the Classifieds columns looking for people who are looking for friendship. The world is full of lonely people, and these days they don't know how to make new friends. I was the same and found myself struggling. It isn't easy when you move anywhere - let alone the whole other side of the world - but I felt lonelier when I was married. You know that feeling you get when you are standing in a room full of people you don't know and you start to panic. You are praying for just one person to look your way, or acknowledge you with a smile or an introduction. Just one way to get you started and then its mostly plain sailing from there unless you get really wasted and make a fool of yourself by throwing up all over the bathroom. I hate parties now.

I have had lots of days like this and used to go along to tourism industry functions where I had to introduce myself to complete strangers but in those days I had a purpose to be there - I was gonna network my ass off and I had a business card to hand out. That was my crutch. 

When you are a single you don't have a crutch anymore. It is just you - looking for a good time, or a date or a friend. It is just you that is wanting company, and when your looks go, and you are a size 20 - it is just you that they would have to settle for if they were interested in anything further.

I haven't dated anyone for ten years now. I haven't lost the art of speaking to anyone. I am probably more interesting now than I have ever been - but I am a different person now. I am not a good catch. Not in a world were there are younger, prettier versions out there with less hangups than me.

So what do you do in this day and age when you are looking for companionship. Most people turn to the Classifieds, or one of the internet dating sites. I have had nothing but bad luck on there so far. Some people don't even bother with adding a photo - I wonder if they paid their membership - because they are obviously not serious about it.

I have joined a scottish dating website and had a few genuine people so far, until i tell them that i am a size 20. I actually turned a date down for coffee with a good looking guy because I was fatter than him. He was still gorgeous. I told him that he should be going out with the young chikky babes while he was still hot. I said that he had plenty of time to go out with the old bags like me once he lost all of his hair and his teeth fell out. He thought that was funny.

I invited an old man aged 71 to join us today at the Supper Club because he winked at me online two days ago. We are meeting at the cafe clubhouse every Saturday so I invited to come and try to find someone who was just as old as he is. He is too old for me.

You see the labels we put on ourselves? Too old, too fat, too ugly - it is misconceptions like this that make the world go round. The theme of my week has been letting go of labels. Putting people into a box for the sake of working out what to do with them and a way to treat them, means we miss out on so many great opportunities to meet other people. 

I want to meet people who don't want to live with labels.

I don't want to label anyone any more.



Sort:  

I love how you are finishing this article by stating that you don't want to label people anymore. I hope this starts with you and all the love you deserve to shower yourself with too. The more you will end up doing what you love to love yourself, the closer you will come to attracting the ultimate partner for who you really are.

May the force stay with you. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

that is so sweet of you - thank you - i do want to be loved - and i had forgotten what that felt like - i suppose i will find out now :) so much happier - peace to you too lovely xx t

You comment just made my heart smile of an easy warm smile. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

I'm older than 71 and I do not feel old! I like talking with younger people but not for dating.

I know that people say that old is a state of mind but i am still scared - think that I am dating this man now actually - eek ;0

You really made me laugh ! I havnt been single for zillion of years but now I am and I'm not sure yet what I gonna do other than deal with myself. Oh well, I am not a size 20 but I also hate standing around at parties. I don't feel enough energy to even look at dating sites nor do I find any man interesting enough. I guess feeling lonely is a state of mind we all need to go through but not for 10 years. Please write when you found the love of your life ! Nice to meet you !

hi ya - i think that I just got tired of all the pretending i was okay and the bravado and had to face some serious truths about myself. I am so many things that other people are not and realised that i could live another fifty years yet - dont think that i want to admit that i have had my last shag yet :) Lovely to meet you too. T x

All I Can say : GO GIRL !!!

I agree you need to let go of these labels and go with the flow regardless of whether or not if it works out it doesn't matter in the end but it does if you arent living in the moment. upped.

i am still scared shitless - what if he has a heart attack when we are doing it? oh god kinda freaking out :)

Haha while thats funny there as been research done on this, I wish I had the link but the chances of that actually happening are literally very very low or zero its more of a old wifes tale so I wouldn't worry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60248.53
ETH 3368.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51