MY DEPRESSION STORY: SMILE AGAIN {EPISODE 2}

in #depression7 years ago

This is the second episode of my depression story and how I survived.

I want to specially appreciate @yoo1900 for seeing my story as quality content selecting it as one out of five posts he visited. I'm eternally grateful. I will carry on your legacy and preach your goodness

image[Credit]

Feel free to share your depression story too, someone might draw hope from you

I hope others will join in celebrating genuine works like you're doing, more grace to you sir.

I shared earlier in my first episode what depression can do to a man/woman and how easily you can feel their is no reason to keep living.

According to the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, suicide rates among the leading causes of death in the United States, claming the lives of approximately 43,000 Americans every year.
Someone may be more likely to attempt suicide if they have a mental health disorder. About 90 percent of people who commit suicide have a mental illness at the time of their death. Depression is the top risk factor.

According to a statistical report, one of the leading cause of suicide is depression.
image[Credit]

I was lost in the world, I couldn't find my place when this event happened.
I knew it deep down something was eating me up from the inside, a darkness was growing really fast withing me and I didn't know how to stop it.

One first thing people do when we fail at things or encountered a major setback is Withdrawal

We practically withdraw from the world, we distance ourselves from every possible means. We stop being seen, we cut off communications, we delete/block friends contact, we mainly go into hiding.

This was the exact thing I did, as I said earlier, I died to everyone. I did this because my mind immediately generate a defensive mechanism because as a human I am, I didn't want anyone to see his/herself as superior or more intelligent, I didn't want fake sympathy and care that's not genuine.

We desert people before they desert us, we feel we're not worthy of being in relationship with others.

we lock up

Whenever someone is battling depression, it's not healthy to shut people out of ones life.

The moment you do this, the heaviness will multiply and worthlessness will begin to set in. Suicidal thoughts will begin to grow within and you'll gradually be drifting into darkness.

According to Stephen Ilardi, PhD, who has authored books including The Depression Cure and associate professor of psychology at the University of Kansas.

"When we're clinically depressed, there's a very strong urge to pull away from others and to shut down," says "It turns out to be the exact opposite of what we need."

I discovered I needed help so I consulted various author on Depression, I soon found out that during depression, social isolation serves to worsen and amplify ones depressed state.

Ilardi noted"Social withdrawal amplifies the brain's stress response. Social contact helps put the brakes on it."

When we shut the world out, it amplifies our depression but relating helos make it easy to snap out of it.

When I saw this, I knew it would be almost impossible for me to do, because I knew quite well that it would be an hearculian task.

But then I was dying and this seem to be my best shot to survive. I made a conscious and deliberate decision to reach out to people I want to reconnect with and started making the move.

This is one of the bravest thing I've ever done

The more I consciously and genuinely make calls, meet friends and laugh, Igradually snapped out of it.

My Advice

Are you struggling with depression?
Are you looking for a way out of that dark hole?
Do want to get rid of the Big black dog(depression)

I will advise you to reach out although it may be difficult but it's what you need right now, make deliberate decisions to think positive thoughts

See beyond your storms, believe it's only a passage in your journey through life.

You're not worthless, your circumstances or trauma does not define who you truly are, you are more stronger than you've ever known.

Speak positive words into your life, share what you feel with trusted friends and begin to live each day in appreciation because the future holds better things for you!

image[Credit]

There is hope for you, stay alive and smile again!

I remain @aristokratos and I say (my Creed)
The height of a Man's accomplishment equates the depth of his conviction. Seek for purpose and happiness will follow, like shadow follows after sunshine

Sort:  

One of the things I find in reaching out that one can create excuses as to why they shouldn't. For example that friend might not understand or I don't want to be a burden.
There are a couple of things I've used to get round this.

  1. Ringing a helpline according to your country. In the UK you can use https://www.samaritans.org - As they are free of judgement they are just there to listen. I have used them in times not only in deep despair but just feeling a little down.

  2. https://www.mydepressionteam.com/ has also been useful. You can share your feelings and sometimes writing it down or talking about it means the thoughts aren't rattling around your own head.

wow!! That's very kind of you. You're right, this should help too

The withdrawal and cutting off all communications with others. Man, that really strikes a chord with me.

#endthestigma

Thanks @pmh, I really appreciate your support to end the stigma

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69