The stillness, the goodness

in #depression5 years ago

Can you feel the stillness that's up in the night air? As everyone goes to sleep, the silence, the stillness, and, for the lucky ones peace. For some the night brings trouble, in their minds or lives, who knows? We are all trying to live life, fighting a battle that we feel like we're going to lose most of the time. What's left for us? Let's grab a pen, a keyboard, something, and write down our experiences, let's open up our chest for strangers to see what's inside. Are you happy? are you hurting too?
As I look through my window, feeling the night breeze, I think about the whole humanity. Yes, I think about the cliche: What have we become? I try to be good with people, sometimes I succeed, sometimes I don't. I am just a human, and I feel like I can't even save myself, how can I help others? That's the huge irony of the world, I am a professional counselor, and I can't take myself out of the hole I felt. I give advice that I don't follow, I kindle hope on other's people hearts, while my own sits in the dark.
But none of this matters too much. The world is still going, the sun will rise tomorrow I like it or not. When I think, is the world a better place because I'm alive? Would it miss me if I died? I can't answer that, or I don't want to. I believe some days I do make a difference, even if small, when I give that old lady a smile I can see the sun coming to her face, maybe this was the first smile she saw. When I talk with that drunk guy that spilled soap all over the store's floor and he is there standing in front of me apologizing, ashamed, and I tell him, that's ok these things happen. He feels absolved of his crime. Then I was able to show compassion for him, maybe a little bit of hope was given, not everyone is a bad person.
There's still good in this world and it's worth fighting for, I think Gandalf said that to Frodo. Yes, there's still good. Sometimes we feel like we have to fight to see the good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55