Depressed: Final Exams and Competitions

in #depressed7 years ago

Depressed

Hey, I'm usually a science guy, but wow, some stuff just happened to me today. I really have no where else to go and only two things right now are making me feel better. The first thing is that knowing tomorrow, I'm about to go on my fourth date with this cute and extremely intelligent Oxford girl; I'm going to tell her all of this. The second thing is writing out what happened. I don't care who reads this, I just need to let this out, but to all who reads this,  let me tell you about...

MY DAY

The Final

The worst thing that happened today really happened in the beginning of the day. Here's a little backstory before I tell you what happened. I spent two months studying for this calculus course. I understood everything really well and I enjoyed it. I did better than the average student in my class. I wasn't the best (because someone literally aced every single test) but I always got better than the median grade. I'll show some proof.

Today was finals day. I was so ready. I looked back on all of my practice quizzes and made sure I knew everything. The practice final exam was so easy. "THIS WAS GOING TO BE A PIECE OF CAKE." Until I received my test. I didn't know how to do the first problem. I could set it up, but I couldn't solve it (I'm not going to use mathematical discourse or go in depth). I wasn't familiar with this problem. Why didn't he put this in the practice exam? The next problem looked so easy. I used u substitution, but I knew the solution I made was not right! This is so simple, but I was not prepared for this problem! Why couldn't he have put this in our practice exam! This was a reoccurring trend... I know I did bad. In fact, I know I did worse than bad. The thing that adds the cherry on top of this banana split was that I was walking into this expecting to get a 100%. If the teacher put problems similar to this on the practice exam, I would have been able to this without a doubt. I memorized the problems on the final exam and went back home to check on my textbook how to do them; IT WAS SO EASY! I literally understood why and how to do the problem, but that doesn't matter anymore...

The Competition/Show

Here's some more backstory before I talk about the show. I play in two bands, a pop punk band and a melodic deathmetal band. (BTW if enough people want the facebook page or name to my deathmetal band, I'll put it up). My melodic deathmetal band had a competition for a huge festival called Summer Slaughter. It would have been a great opportunity for my band. Also, I would be able to go backstage and see and talk to my idols from when I was a kid. To play at Summer Slaughter, we had to compete against five other bands. After each set, a judge would come talk to us and give us some feedback and criticism. 

After the final, which already absolutely annihilated my day, I had to go to the show. I picked up my bass player and we headed to the venue, El Corazon. Immediately, anyone reading this from Washington will recognize the venue and think "whoa, this guy is in my state!" We have a small group of fans and I drank a couple beers with them before the show, having a lot of fun. More  and more people come as the day goes on. When my band played, we had the biggest crowd and biggest mosh pit. It was amazingly fun. However, even though we brought most of the crowd, we lost. We did not even get runner up... It sucked. Another blow that I did not need...

EPILOGUE

So yeah, my day sucked. However, I should just be grateful about how fortunate I am. That I'm going to college, that I have two hands, that I play guitar, I have friends, I'm dating a cute girl, that I have it better than some people do. I'm fortunate and I'll always appreciate that. It just sucks that I had to do so bad on my final tho. Like, that really really bothers me. I really really needed an A and I was so close to it. I could've settled for a B, but I predict I'll get a C. This is going to fuck with my future haha, but oh well... BUT HEY! I FEEL A BIT BETTER NOW???

Stay thirsty my friends!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58471.44
ETH 2587.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44