You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Upgrading Democracy

in #democracy6 years ago

WOW that is a good post! I never loved democracy... I have my reasons but when I try to explain them, people call me names, bad names :) I am more of a Socrates fan than I am of Plato and yes I do agree with some (most) of S. philosophy. That being said and accepting that people do not accept that... I would be happy with democracy if a person received his right to vote after he/she took a mandatory exam. It is not fair that foreigners have to take the exam and people who live in a certain country do not. What happens is that all foreigners know what only a few natives know. I am gonna stop talking now... This is not a subject I like discussing :D Some people are sheep, democracy does not work PERIOD

Sort:  

Thanks for reading! I am curious about why you think democracy is flawed (I also see flaws, hence the post!), but I don't see a better alternative. I see well intentioned alternatives, but ones that seem to come with much more dangerous flaws. Anyway, I am really interested in what you consider the problems with democracy are, more than happy to receive a Discord DM (not looking for a debate!) if you don't want a public record!

About Plato and Socrates, I'm not well versed enough in philosophy (well, this sort of philosophy) to know what the difference is. I have a friend who is a Philosophy professor, probably I should ask him...

I wouldn't be so harsh about democracy, I would prefer to say that it currently doesn't work efficiently!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82