Changing approaches in music making

in #deluge7 years ago

Taking my wife to the groceries was always a burden. She had always insisting on doing it on Saturdays and me, to drive her around... and I kind of hate it, because I am wasting precious time doing domestic business instead doing my music thing.

But I don't hate it any more. Suddenly my saturdays are becoming fun. And it have to do with having an electronic music instrument that runs on batteries. Definitely my music making approach is changing.

Because when doing a drum pattern or a synth sound, it can be affected by the enviroment in as much it affects me.

Add to the equation that in order to change my workflow, I needed to get rid of keys. So I sold my keyboards.

So yeah! Changing keys for little pads was quite a challenge. Now I am learning how to think music in a less standard way. No two hands playing basic chords plus a bass note for me anymore. It has been more about how it sounds (I am trying not to use the word harmony). It has been a rediscovery.

Well, hopefully I will upload some tunes soon.

Sort:  

yes please, upload some tunes soon! I'm still getting used to my Deluge but can say that my sequences and patterns start sounding different than before. One of the things I like most is that each track can have a different number of steps which opens up to very interesting and grooving polyrhythms

How cool! Yeah, it is a great little beast! No regrets for getting it. And Polyrhythms are another whole thing to dive into. In my last sketch programmed an interesting stuff. Now, I would love to get a camera, but for now Iphone will do. Thanks for your response!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26