You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Delegation Issue

in #delegations5 years ago

LOL. Did you even think about fuzz-testing this fork? The "do a few things on the testnet" testing method is so 1988. Just in case you don't know, we have tools now.

You also continue to operate under the misapprehension that because something is highly-voted-on it is in some way valuable, which is completely opposite to the facts on the ground on Steem.

I don't know what universe you guys live in.

Sort:  

I mean it's essentially what steempeak does. If our users find an issue we fix it. Not sure what the issue is?
Steempeak has it easy we don't have to have consensus we just update but i mean this is software... find an error and fix it.

Bugs in a front end are easily fixed on demand as you say. The situation is a lot different when dealing with a (supposed to be) immutable database. If there are bugs that corrupt the state, recovering from that can be very painful, or in extreme cases not even possible.

I agree that the development process is a bit light on testing. Ideally every operation would have a comprehensive set of unit tests across the full range of allowable inputs and states, as well as random (fuzz) tests, but this is actually very difficult to achieve in practice. Hopefully the developers will make steps in that direction though.

Yes and this bug is not painful nor extreme.

That does appear to be the case but when bugs aren't caught in testing it indicates a risk of other more painful or extreme bugs also getting through.

As much as I love Steempeak and obviously the good work of your hands and that of your team, I beg to differ. A front end and the what is essentially the foundation that front end resides cannot compare.

I feel most witnesses no longer resonate with other steemians struggling to make something on the chain. I am still waiting to see if this hard fork actually does anything to improve manual curation. I doubt it. Heavily! 😬😬

Posted using Partiko Android

This hardfork is just a matter of fixing a delegation bug. I'm thinking you're talking about last hardfork?

Yes. It was in response to this.

You also continue to operate under the misapprehension that because something is highly-voted-on it is in some way valuable, which is completely opposite to the facts on the ground on Steem.

Bugs will always be discovered even months into the latest hardfork so that doesn't concern me as much.

I was just addressing something that I have been overly concerned with since HF21 was announced. But now that it is here let us see what it brings.

I'm voting on this because I suspect everyone else will...

nah, it's actually a quality comment. Guess I could be throwing my vote away..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41