PSA: How I Messed Up My @dlike Delegations & What You Can Learn From It

in #delegation5 years ago (edited)

I prefer to manually curate with my votes. So I hadn't done much delegating and Today was the first time I delegated after HF20. Things have changed and it cost me a great opportunity cost. Here is what happened............ After reading on the recent developments of @dlike I wanted to make a decent delegation and delegated 1500SP making myself the 7th largest decelerator to the project. Then I made this poll about the Security Audit o @dlike It's great if you can cast your vote there.

Then I felt like delegating more and before that I was voting on @steemhunt and @fundition After draining some decent voting power I tried o delegate and I got an error. The I tried delegating a smaller amount and it worked. Then I tried to increase my delegations and after some careless mistakes the state of my account can be seen https://steemworld.org/@vimukthi (Go to the delegations tab)

Delegations Burn Voting Mana But Keeps RC

Delegating SP will reduce the Max Capacity for RC. But RC won't be burnt. The reason why my original delegation didn't work and I had to go for smaller amounts was because my voting power was depleted. The amount of SP you can delegate depends on the amount of voting Mana you have.

Delegation Values Are Always A Net Total

Let's say you have 1500SP deleted and vote to delegate 500SP more. Then don't enter into a 500SP delegation. If you do that you'll end up cancelling 1000SP of your previous delegation and set the total delegated amount to 500SP. You have to wait 5 days to get these delegations back. I have over 3.7K SP stuck being expired like this.

Simple Things

But one can easily miss these little things whil being busy ad multi-tasking. So keep these two little things in mind when delegating.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

I didn't know that. Thanks for sharing. And wait for the SP to come back. 😃

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @vimukthi!

You just got a 1.55% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Very good advice! Though I'm a long ways off from delegating SP to anyone (having just cleared 20 SP to my name), info like this is definitely well appreciated and will come in handy down the road.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74