Why I bought delegation.

in #delegation7 years ago

You did what?

Twelve days ago I bought a 2000SP 30 day delegation from @blocktrades. Two days later I increased it to 4000SP. In total it cost me 106 Steem. My total SP now stands at 7,089.808 and my 100% upvote is $0.72. Not huge by any measure, but it allows me to seek out more worthy posts to upvote.

So you are trying to get a return on your investment, right?

No. When I received the delegation - which was handled very quickly by @blocktrades - I made the decision to no longer upvote my own posts. All the increased SP was to be spent upvoting and curating others. Looking at the figures, I stand to lose out on this deal. There is no way I am going to get the return on my investment through curation rewards - but that was never my intention.

So, why do it?

I believe in Steem and Steemit, and I am here for the long haul. The investment I made dented my wallet, true. What I treasure more than the monetary value though, is the sense of community and the chance to help shape it. I relish the idea of helping newbies to the platform by encouraging their posts, and I hope, helping to retain newer users who might have become disillusioned with Steemit.

I strongly believe that by voting more regularly at a higher rate than I did previously, it has helped to build my network. Since I bought the delegation, my followers have increased by almost 200.

But, Muxxy...they are lowly minnows...even if they do upvote you, it won't hold much value.

This is true. Today, they might be plankton or minnows, but so was every dolphin and whale out there. I'm investing in Steemit, the community, and my own future. So no, it's not totally selfless: there is method behind my madness. If my upvotes on other people's posts, and on their constructive comments on mine help in a little way, the 103 Steem is worth every little cent.

Image Source



Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, songwriting or playwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block on Discord and follow our community account @thewritersblock.


Sort:  

Awesome. Cool to see new capital entering the Steem ecosystem. I sent over a 2.7k delegation that you can use for 3-4 weeks to help with your curation efforts.

Oh wow! Thank you very much! It shall be put to good use encouraging others.

I guess your 100% vote is now a full dollar.
I think your name was also mentioned in Stella's post for delegating her power to human curators. So you should be receiving some more delegation, I guess. Congrats & a Merry Christmas to you! 😊.

200 followers in 10 days sounds awesome. May you get many more now!

You're a top bloke Muxxy, but you'll always be this fella in my eyes.....

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
Seriously though mate, well done.

Aww, he's growing on me lol

Thanks dude

Haha <3 much love

I applaud your attitude and actions. Steemit needs more people like you . Upvoted and resteemed

Thank you. I hope to encourage more sharing and caring.

Yes, this. 100% THIS. This is how I feel about all this. It is hwy I am so happy about Sliderfest and was so happy about being the guinea minnow. I hope in the future to earn enough on my posts to be able to at least maintain 500 effective SP until I am big enough to have my slider on my own!

More of u pls.

Muxxy just in case I never told you bro.... you are awesome

Thank you dude.

You are a marvelous curator... And I love what you are doing Muxxi! Thank you for sharing the love around steemit and I wish you much success. I believe it will only multiply and grow... resteemed.

See none of this surprises me in the least.
From the beginning before I started following you each time I saw your name I saw the goodness you were showing to folks.
Did not take long before I was a follower of you and your alter ego (world domination goal bot muxxy) yup I am hooked ;-)
Reality is we need so many more like you...
You are a roll model...

Thank you. Your constant support is much appreciated.

good work Muxxy, its a very noble endevour. But I 100% agree, build and nurture your newbies as one day their vote will be worth something and you're in prime position to recover those delegation cost 6-12months down the line.

If only we have 20% of users like you, steemit will rise and shine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76