Dehydrated mushrooms!- First Load in New DehydratorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #dehydrating7 years ago (edited)

First load in new dehydrator
Sliced and ready.jpg
My new Crawford dehydrator came in two days ago and I’ve been dithering about trying to decide what should be my first load. New Crawford.jpg At first I thought about fruit leather as I had some nice fresh fruit I could use in the fridge. Decided against that because my “liquid” sheets have not arrived.
Today I went to Cosco and found mushrooms on sale. Hubby and I love mushrooms, in soups, in stews, in omelettes, in almost anything you can put mushrooms in. So I bought a BIG pack.Big Pack.jpg
When I got home I cleaned the tops by gently wiping them with a damp paper towel. Then I removed the stems, sliced them thinly and spread the slices on the dehydrator trays. Don’t they look pretty?
Sliced and ready.jpgI placed the trays in the prewarmed dehydrator at 275 F, and set the timer for 4 hours. At the 3.5 hour mark I checked them. While they were much dryer, They were still pliable. So I reset the timer for another 2 hours and went back to the kitchen to begin processing the 4 pounds of ripe, beautiful strawberries I also got from Cosco.
When the timer went off, I checked and the mushrooms were dry and ready to come out. Dehydrated.jpg I will now vacuum pack them, and store them in a food safe bucket in the pantry. Now we have mushrooms for at least the next few weeks.
Eureka, my first dehydration job in the new Crawford...Success!

Sort:  

Dehydrate the stems and grind down to powder as a thickener for stews Kate you will love it! A hack I have used for fruit roll ups is parchment paper. So happy to see you posting!

Actually I saved the stems to use in morning omelettes. I thought of the parchment paper hack after I had started the mushrooms. May do the fruit leather this afternoon. Thanks for the tip and the vote.

I have fruit roll ups in my freezer and bags of figs that need to be made into jam or whatever, being allergic to figs has placed a challenge on me even to process them anymore :-(

I have that same challenge with peppers, ALL vegetable peppers. Can't even harvest them any more. I was given 10 pounds of dehydrated fig pieces that I need to do something with, even if it is can them.

Nice Kate! I just ordered my first dehydrator lol-will be asking a lot of questions in the near future! Great to see you posting here! Best wishes!

rena64, that is wondereful news. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help. What dehydrator did you get?

Kate this is Renate Butler from Germany-you seen me on Blakes live streams (maybe rememberme lol) anywho-my dehydrator is a product from Switzerland and it was really cheap 5 trays, round...I want to get my feet wet first lol see how the whole thing goes...I let you know-I am still waiting for delivery rofl Best wishes

@rena64, I thought that was you Renate, Have you received your dehydrator yet? Really hope you get it and like it. I find that this is the easiest form of food preparation for me, although I love canning too. Thanks for the well wishes too.

Congratulations @katedansyng! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59181.56
ETH 2521.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47