DeGoogle Diaries#1 When the hard drives fail

in #degoogle7 years ago (edited)

My quest to get rid of google has been in works for a long time. But this is the first time im going to write about it. The story starts with my Nextcloud program. For those how don’t know Nextcloud is an opensource selfhosted cloud storage, calendar, notebook etc. Im hosting my calendar and my important works on my Raspberrypi 3 so the information is mine and mine alone.

I used an Samsung evo 16gig sd card as my OS storage and a salvaged 500gig hard drive as my main storage. I rescued it from my friend’s computer where it showed hard drive failure already. But I hard formatted it with CCleaner writing the whole drive 3 times over. Crystaldiskinfo showed now errors anymore after that. But it was a bad idea as we will see.

It worked fine for about half a year but then one day I tried to log in to my Nextcloud calendar this thing was staring at me. 

It says that my data folder has an error. So, I took my headphones of and heard a strange clicking sound. I knew straight away now it happened my hard drive had failed.

You can see and here it in Dtube https://d.tube/v/sometoughts/wd587w5z

All my work was gone! No not exactly I had everything saved on multiple devices except the calendar… So all my hard work staying of Bigbrothers calendar apps was gone. 

So, remember kids. BACKUP BACKUP AND BACKUP! And dont use shitty hard drives.

The story ends with me for now just using the Raspberry Pi 3 with an 32gig sd card.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60051.08
ETH 2417.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43