Yes, I’ve butchered a deer!

in #deer6 years ago

I started talking to a guy a few weeks ago and he DOES own his own homestead! :) He asked if I had problems with butchering animals..... nope!

I told him I butchered a deer on November 3rd.
image

But then I realized that wasn’t exactly what he meant! 😂

He told me he likes to butcher his own animals and process the meat and that he and some friends were planning to do that soon and I would be invited to help and meet his friends. 😊

We did that last weekend and by the time I arrived they had finished a cow and was beginning the first of two hogs. To me there is probably nothing better than hearing a bunch of country boys talking crap on each other. LOL!

I did finally help on the second hog as I was handed the Sawzall to cut off the hooves.
image

I mentioned this in my first post. https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@countryheart/hello-from-nebraska-or-my-first-post-24e09cd7c0d

The next day we had a lot of fun just the two of us processing some chorizo. (Mexican sausage)
image

We used some seasoning from #Cabelas. I asked if he created his own seasoning mixtures. He said he does but it’s too expensive when trying to process bulk meat and that it’s cheaper just to get packaged seasoning from #Cabelas or #BassProShop.

Do you have any tips on being able to create bulk seasoning mixes without breaking your wallet?

When processing your own animals, how do you like to process the meat? What’s your favorite?

I’d love to hear from you!!

Blessings,

❤️Sandy aka @CountryHeart

Sort:  

oh man your van!! hopefully everyone's okay - obvs not the deer though!!

that mexican sausage looks good yummm!

Yes, my son and I were not injured, just shocked! We were two minutes from being home after a 4 hour round trip. The chorizo is deliscious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99