Philosophy Of Full Metal Alchemist Brotherhood (MUST WATCH!) by Wisecrack

in #deepthink7 years ago (edited)

If you are unfamiliar with the Youtube creators Wisecrack, you have been missing out on some of the most epic displays of analysis and humor referencing your favorite cult films, series, anime, and books. Wisecrack just rocks from beginning to end, hands down!

In this Philosophy Of FMA, a most highly requested "Philosophy Of _____" made to Wisecrack, they explore the relationship between Scientism and Faith in the hit series Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood. Jared explains that the underlying message throughout the series is that ideologies are a problem, regardless of if they represent a God or a scientific aspiration to become a God. This is compared between the characters Scar, a terroristic theist, and Father, a spirit sort-of-thing aspiring to become a perfect being. Something that amazes me about the series is that Scar was able to learn from his mistakes and change his views while Father, who represented an obsession with science, was unable to understand why his obsession defeated any useful purpose of becoming a perfect being in the first place.

Jared also expands on the philosophy of the Elric Brothers growing throughout the series. From the initial assumption of alchemy that "One is all and all is one" we can see that the brothers eventually adopt a new perspective that something more can always be given, even if it's just a little. They then set out to continue their journey to find truth, whatever it may be.

There are spoilers abound in this video, but if you've never watched FMA, I think that this video will make you want to watch all that much more. I've seen the original FMA series, read the entire manga, the movie, and I've watched Brotherhood. This Wisecrack video helped me to see more than I realized was going on, in spite of being such a hardcore fanboy of the FMA franchise to begin with.

I hope you enjoy the video. I have a plethora of other gems of the internet which I plan to share in a single post down the road, but I felt like this one couldn't wait. Please comment below to start any conversations about how accurate you think Wisecrack was in their analysis. If you have any hesitations upvoting this post because it is not my video, I have no hard feelings as I have no connections to Wisecrack at all, short of being an uber fan of their work. I certainly did not do as good of a job explaining FMA here as they did in the video, so check it out.


Disclaimer: The Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood and Wisecrack copyright ownersdid not authorize, sponsor, or in any way associate with the creation of this post. I'm just a huge fan.

Disclaimer to UpVote and Follow Swappers: I will not upvote or follow just because you did the same for me. What I will do is take a look at your work if you are respectful in your request for me to do so. If I like it, I'll up vote it. If I like you, I'll follow you. I only ask for the same in return. If I could, I would reject the upvotes and follows from swappers because those are insincere. Please read my work and get to know something about me that you like before you upvote or follow. The reason for this is that trading upvotes and follows without any respect for content is hacky. If you don't appreciate content, this is not a good space for you to be working in. You shouldn't be working in ANY entertainment space if you don't respect the content. Go back to scalping tickets on ebay or something. Just spare me your penny for a lie.

Sort:  

Congratulations @philosophist! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

thank you my friend for very very great post i happy you read and write your idea for my post and follow me thanks for support me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39