You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tired of this “Red pill, Blue pill” Analogy

in #deepshit6 years ago (edited)

I think that whole red pill/ woke thing that people like to talk about kind of implies a dichotomy which doesn't really exist. I may throw some crazy ideas around but I also freely admit that it is just some bullshit being said by some guy on the internet lol. I think you hit the nail on the head when you say that it is about feeding their egos. People like to feel like they're right so they develop these world views in which they are the only ones who are right.

There is a discussion of Truth in Milton's Aeropagitica, that I like to (badly) paraphrase, which is pretty similar to your point in the last paragraph. Essentially, he says that Truth will always defeat Falsehood because "she is strong next to the Almighty." I don't go in for the religious angle but I always liked that message.

Sort:  

I know what is true for me. I enjoy sharing it. I belief that if it’s true for others they will hear it eventually and I don’t need to beat them over the head with it, and if I’m wrong about something I’ll figure it out sooner or later. I agree with that quote but I’d think of it more a story rising above, because it does not require a fight, winners or losers.

Haha I get you but Milton liked that kind of adversarial view of things, I think. He was arguing against the censorship of books in that one. His political works are not easy to read but there is a lot to love in them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88