DeepOnion Wallet: Sending Coins with Custom Change Addresses

in #deeponion7 years ago (edited)

deeponion.png

The purpose of this tutorial is to show users how to utilize Coin Control features when sending coins in the DeepOnion wallet.

By default, your wallet pre-generates 100 private keys/addresses when it creates a new wallet.dat file. Every time you send a transaction, the unspent “change” gets submitted to a new private key. This is an import privacy feature due to block explorers being public. So, if you have 1000 coins and you send 200 of them to another user, 800 coins go to a random pre-generated private key within your wallet.dat.

But I’m participating in the DeepOnion airdrop. They said I can only spend 10% of my airdrop earnings until the end of the airdrop or I’m ineligible. If I spend 10% of my earnings and my change goes to a different private key, will that make me ineligible?

This is a gray question, because I have send coins to another address and still received my airdrop coins, but the short answer is MAYBE. How do we prevent maybe from being a yes? Coin Control!

Coin control is a feature that allows you to send coins within your wallet under your rules. These rules include, which block of coins you want to choose from (important in maximizing staking rewards), and what change address you want your change to go too.

Sending Coins with a Custom Change Address

  1. Open up your DeepOnion Wallet and navigate to Settings – Options
  2. Click the “Display” tab and select “Display coin control features (experts only!)” then click OK
    Capture.PNG
  3. Back in the main section of your wallet, go to the “Send coins” tab and you’ll see a new area that says “Coin Control Features”
  4. Select “custom change address”
  5. Input your primary wallet address in that address bar If you want your change to come directly back to your primary address, or whichever address you wish.
  6. Add recipients address in the “Pay To” address bar
  7. Add a label if you wish to add them to your contacts
  8. Choose the amount of coins you wish to send
  9. Click Send and follow prompts
    2.PNG

That’s it! Now that you’ve added whichever address in the “custom change address” field, it will stay populated every time you send a transaction until you change it. That makes it easy if you’re sending multiple transactions.

If you want to verify your change address, select Inputs then hit your drop down menu on your coins and you can verify everything there!

3.PNG

Please follow, comment, upvote and resteem!

Donate ONION:
DbVBcaeyvbXvoa8sqdXAKQBqDbR42QvViJ

Sort:  

Hello Mr. @sowellsvt

I was worried that I might disqualified in 7th airdrop, can you look at my problems? I did send some Onions to Novaexchange and I notice there's a different address in my wallet and has 90+ onion thingy, is that the problem?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70