Deeponion and Other Crypto in China

in #deeponion7 years ago

Last week, I was sent to a suburban China to check on our suppliers. Without having laptop to do internet stuffs, I solely rely on my cellphone to surf and check email.
I had heard about China restricting the internet usage within the nation. No google, no facebook, no youtube. However, they have their own version: baidu, weibo, etc etc. but on censored content.
I am a member of bitcointalk and participate in some Deeponion and other coin discussions. I was surprised to find out i cannot connect to bitcointalk.org. I thought of getting VPN setup on my cellphone but since it's android based, I cannot get Google Play to run and install any VPN software.
Good thing the case is not the same with Deeponion official forum (www.deeponion.org). The official forum can be accessed easily, with little difficulty considering I was using cellphone to read and type messages.
Coinmarketcap also works. During my stay, I visited this site many times, since bitcoin and alt-coins prices are plunging down fast, after news that China was stopping ICO programs, leading to alot of people confused, thus bringing even bitcoin prices down.
I was thinking deep on how to access bitcointalk until I realized I had my PC left mining in my country, with that PC having Teamviewer installed. I borrowed a friend's PC, and installed Teamviewer. In no time I can access my home desktop PC without any problem. Alas, I can access google, facebook, youtube. Moreover, I can access bitcointalk.org!
What a relief, I can now say the Great Firewall of China is strong, but not strong enough for those who have will.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67