Could this cryptocurrency become the best marketed & most widely distributed altcoin ever?

in #deeponion7 years ago (edited)

I'm talking of course about DeepOnion

I'm pretty sure there are no bitcointalk forum members that have never heard about this project. It's just impossible to miss hundreds of members signatures pointing to their Airdrop or even find a single topic to read without seeing them. 

A great way to do marketing

And as it looks like now, this will only intensify and make a strong move to social media, where it could potentially do what so many altcoins struggle with, attract the masses. If they succeed to attract only a fraction of the people on social media that will be good not only for this project but for cryptos and blockchain in general. With an army of volunteer marketeers it could also go viral.

Have a quick glance on their forum and check out all of the bounties and contests they're putting on. It's absolutely mind boggling to me! 

Lets just think about this for a moment. Instead of doing an ICO, like many do nowadays, I mean it's definitely popular and easy. Possibly with nothing more than a whitepaper like some that I've seen, you go and do it differently. 

You premine most of the coins (18 out of total 25 million) and set up this huge Airdrop (go on for 40 weeks) and bounty/contest marketing plan, making the people participating your loyal and driven marketeers. I've seen it done before, but never on this level or attracting so many. On top of that, you have mining (x13 algorithm) to satisfy those with hardware where 2 Million coins will be mineable and you have POS to incentivize holding and increasing your stack (10% first year).

What does it do

If we're talking about DeepOnion we have to mention Tor, which is short for The Onion Router and can provide anonymity and guard its users from surveillance and traffic analysis. If you install DeepOnion wallet you don't only get that functionally enabled as soon as it connects but also help secure the Tor network for everybody else by simply running the wallet.

I've never used Tor myself, but I mean, why wouldn't I use it now. It's simple and it works. And I don't know a single person that is a fan of government surveillance or big corporations gathering data on how we use the internet.  

The Anonymous Team

If we're not counting hundreds of volunteers, the team consists of 4 anonymous individuals who claim to be professionals in software development, big-data & cloud computing, marketing and one of the a blockchain expert. I'm not sure if I'm a fan of their anonymity, than again maybe it's only fitting for this project. 

I can say though that the wallet works just fine. Transactions are fast, it connects in seconds and downloads the blockchain in a reasonable time. I've already wrote about how great I think the marketing plan is, so it looks like that the team knows what they're doing.

Roadmap

Nice! Many upgrades and features to look forward to down the road.

How to join in?

If you're a member of bitcointalk forum, which you need to be if you're interested in anything crypto and you've joined before July 12th you can join the AirDrop here, check the rules and requirements in this forum thread here.

If not, there are other ways to get your share of Onions:

Bounties

Contests

Giveaways

Faucet

If I remember correctly facebook and twiter campaigns are happening soon, check the forums for more info.

Final Thoughts

I joined the AirDrop on week 2 and since than haven't thought about replacing my signature on bitcointalk for anything else and don't see myself doing in the near future. I like the project. I love the community. And I'm sure the success of this project will surprise many.

Webpage

Bitcointalk Forum

Facebook

Twitter

Reddit


All pictures taken from DeepOnion webpage https://deeponion.org


 If you liked this post please upvote, comment, resteem







Sort:  

Interesting post, I've seen it mentioned but this is the first time I've read about it. Thanks for the info!

Followed for more

great post! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53