You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sanitizing Vietnam: The Podesta Emails

in #deepdives6 years ago

I was a pre teen during Vietnam. My uncle was a medic.
I remember sitting with my Grandmother attentively watching Walter Cronkite every night. I remember how much it tore him up.
I watched in amazement as our government shit on its own and then worked to cover it up.
I watched John McCain rip into a committee of Vets who we’re trying to get the US to stand up and demand The POWs be brought home.
I figure that is a lot of why am a non interventionist libertarian .
The US has gotten a lot better at distracting us from their plights. But the suicide rate among soldiers is still very high.
Sadly we still do not take care of our own. And sadly we still think we need to be the worlds police force

Sort:  

Yes... the suicide rate among vets is about 22 a day! I spent about 2 1/2 years in Nam- first in the Navy and then as an "independent contractor." That's why thjis topic has so much significance for me!

Thanks for your service

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63