Two years ago on this day - Bachelors thesissteemCreated with Sketch.

in #deegram5 years ago

Exactly two years ago, my co-students, roommates, friends and I defended our bachelor’s thesis in IT and Information Systems.

To the time it was the most challenging and rewarding semester of my life, and finally treating the studies as a proper full time job.

Our thesis included making our own company, building hardware for a home security system with a Raspberry Pi, setting up cloud infrastructure and developing an app. (And a small report of roughly 130 pages.)

We made an open source home security system with sensors and remote app control. The app presented status screenshots, could livestream from a camera, and we applied machine learning for facial detection. Oh, and a loud siren ofcourse. We did not quite tune the facial detection to become facial recognition, but we were still very pleased with what we were able to make, given the time and resources.

I learned so much from this project and thesis. Not only from a technical standpoint, but also about teamwork. Managing expertise, playing on eachothers strengths, and the value of teaching eachother and sharing knowledge.

This picture is from the day we presented and defended our thesis, of which we were rewarded an A. We then headed over to @robinron for mandatory celebratory sparkling bubbles (++).

I think this semester is what caused me to go on with entrepreneurship and to create @deegramofficial with @robinron.

I am truly grateful for the flexibility offered by the university that allowed us to do this through our own company, and to all the people I did this project with.
Two years ago on this day - Bachelors thesis
Posted using Deegram @deegramofficial https://www.deegram.com/

Sort:  

It was a great day indeed! And yeah, I agree with the entrepreneurship part. I always knew I wanted to start a business, but the bachelor project showed me who I wanted to start it with 🤓 And then Steem came along and showed us WHAT we should start 💪🔥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56