100 days of value challenge - Day 90: Be there for those struggling, and accept help if that's you

in #deegram5 years ago

Day 90 - 100 days of value challenge!

Tonight, after watching a movie, I'm in the philosophical corner wondering about all the big questions in life.

It made me think a lot about depression, substanse abuse and happiness in general.

You know that feeling you get sometimes about someone you care about, that something is not right? And then you ask them how they're doing and if everything's allright?

Usually they answer that they're fine, and you might be sceptical about it but eventually you let it go.

That's actually pretty scary, because what if they're not?

When I think about it, there's been rough times for me aswell where I haven't been straight about it with those around me. My main reason for it is that I usually handle my own stuff myself, and I don't want to bother those close to me by telling them that something is wrong. Or, not bother, but I know that the people who care about me would hurt if they know I hurt, so I try to spare them and figure it out on my own.

And that's maybe the scariest part, because I know of others who do that as well, probably for similar reasons. And if we all decline help from our loved ones, how will anyone be able to be there for us?

Don't get me wrong, I'm fine. But I often think that maybe at times when I'm not fine, I should have more courage and let those around me help. That's what I would want if it was someone I cared about. I would want to be there for them.

I've lost heroes due to depression and friends to drugs. I know people who have lost their childhoods due to alcohol and some who have lost their parents due to depression and lack of happiness in life.

So please everyone, if you're ever down, let me be there for you. Let your family and friends be there. I like to say that I've lost more than enough, there's no more people to spare.

I promise I'll do my best to do the same and be open if I ever need help myself.

Mental health is a real issue, and only through being there for one another and loving each other will we ever be able to turn the trend around.

We all deserve to be happy!

❤️ 100 days of value challenge - Day 90: Be there for those struggling, and accept help if that's you
Posted using Deegram @deegramofficial https://www.deegram.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41