I don't have a strong passion about anything.

in #deconstruction6 years ago (edited)

I think the internet is full of people with strong convictions. People care about certain topics, and they're very sure they're right.

I'm not sure that I care about anything; and I'm almost never sure I'm right.
Untitled.png

I care the most about truth, but I'm willing to consider that there are circumstances where lying might to lead to a good outcome. But without an objective definition of good, how do I know what a good outcome is? For example, let's say I kill a terrorist. Well, what is a terrorist? It's a politically motivated actor who attacks civilians for political aims. Okay, so then when America bombed Hiroshima, they attacked civilians. Was it politically motivated? The US Government were trying to win a war against the Japanese government. That seems political to me. Okay, so the USA could therefore be considered a terrorist. But that doesn't justify modern terrorism against America by foreign powers. I go down this rabbit hole, get exhausted, and have no clear answers. Everyone else seems so sure.
laza.png

Can you even say something for sure using the English language given multiple meanings of words in multiple contexts with different connotations, do we have to revert to mathematics and symbols of logic? When you do use mathematics, how applicable is it to the real world? Is is applicable to just that situation, or future situations? What about the problem of induction? Just because you can predict something 100 times, doesn't mean the 101st time will be the same. If someone fattens up a duck 100 days a year, the 101st time they might kill it for lunch. How is the duck supposed to predict that?

Even if you can state something as a fact and predict an effect, what about the infinite number of other interactions it has with other objects outside of your prediction?

Even if you are using facts to prove a point, what about the facts you omit? Are those facts a definite statement, or a probability?

jizz.png

How valuable is proving someone wrong? It's not hard to deconstruct something. Even if you prove someone wrong, if they remain unconvinced, have you achieved anything?

This is why I have trouble writing. True knowledge about human endeavors seems almost impossible.

Untitled-5.png

The images have no relationship to this article, I am just trying to justify my purchase of a Wacom.

Thank you.

Sort:  

I dont have any passions either. Nice art though i have no idea what a wacom is

It's a digital drawing tablet. My art is terrible, and lazy.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 26.88% Upvote

This post received a 92.75% upvote from @randofish1 thanks to @business!
For more information, click here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15