Decluttering: If you haven't used it in 6 months, you don't need it.

in #declutter7 years ago

One bit of advice I keep hearing as I look into how to declutter (it's not as easy as one thinks) is when I think I want to buy something, put it on a list and revisit it in 30 days. If I haven't wanted it, or it hasn't come up again during the month, I probably don't really need it.

Another recurring idea is, if I haven't needed and used something I own for more than 6 months, I can get rid of it. This suggestion scares me because I usually end up needing something like that AFTER I get rid of it, and then have to buy another one.

In anycase, I am a motorcycle rider and have accumulated a sizeable collection of riding gear over the years. Here in Sacramento one of the local shops said they might entertain recycling some of the gear. I emptied my closet of all but a couple of my favorites and threw them in my truck to take down there. Unfortunately after picking through them, they decided they didn't fit their customer base.

m_jacks.jpg

So, should I hang them all back in the closet? In addition to too much motorcycle gear, I have bunches of photo equipment, so I think I will use the photo gear to photograph the items individually and see if I can sell them.

I am no expert on this whole decluttering thing, but I am hoping blogging about it, and researching it will motivate me to continue. Who knows, I might actually get rid of something.

Sort:  

Congratulations @deadeyedan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You can sell them on fb market or on letgo as well

Congratulations @deadeyedan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48