No one ever injured their eyesight by looking on the bright sidesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #decisions7 years ago

Positivity equals performance. That's one thing people forget. When you're in a negative mindset, it is impossible to perform at optimal levels. That's why I encourage everyone around me to stay positive at all time. If negativity is sucking up any amount of your energy, you only have that much less energy to exert on your dreams and goals. That's why I frequently remind people that none of us has anytime to be anything but positive.

A lot of people tell me that i'm the most positive person they've ever met. They'll usually also say something like "Man, you're lucky to have such a positive attitude. You find the good in everything" I always tell them that luck has absolutely nothing to do with it. I wasn't born with this mindset (well maybe we all are, but society conditions it out of us). Long ago, i made the decision to always be positive and I continue to make it daily.

One day I realized that angry, negative energy does nothing except cloud our judgement. Think about it, how many excellent decisions have you made while being angry or negative. I can't think of too many personally. I'm the type of person that likes to be in control of my success and dreams. So, I knew I had to make the conscious decision to be positive at all times.

As much as I would like to tell you that this was an instantaneous decision with instant results, I can't. That statement couldn't be further from the truth. Sure, I made the decision instantly, and I did get some quick results, but staying positive is a daily activity. Every morning, the first 15-30 minutes of my day is dedicated to mentally prepping myself to be positive. I'll start off with a few minutes of meditation. Then I will actively tell myself "i'm going to be positive today and i'm going to find the good in life today." I'll repeat that phrase to myself several times. Then, I will tell myself "Today will be amazing, I'm going to do amazing things because I am amazing!" I'll those sentences over and over again at least 10 times every morning... And guess what. Every day is amazing!

It takes more work than a morning ritual to stay positive all day, though. I'm just like anyone else. Events happen throughout the day that cause me frustration. Since I mentally prep every morning, i can usually bring the frustration to a stop before it really sets in. However sometimes, the frustration just builds up too fast. In these times, i'll have to remove myself from the situation for just a few minutes. First, I'll remind myself of everything i'm thankful for in life. Even if it isn't related to the situation. Then i'll find what i can be thankful for in the situation. Sometimes, It's just being thankful to have the opportunity to develop more patience or sometimes I'm thankful that I was able to see someone's true things. The longer your hustle and grind, the more you realize how paramount patience and knowing someone's true colors.

So if you haven't yet, do what I did long ago. Make the decision right now to stay positive regardless of the circumstances. It will have an immediate impact on your life. Then, don't stop there, work everyday to stay positive just like you would put effort into anything else. The right mindset partnered with the right work ethic makes anything possible. It all starts with your attitude though. Make the decision to have a positive attitude!
-Andrew Sayles

Sort:  

Love your attitude Andrew. Just went back read your intro post and get the feeling that your positive attitude has been a huge part of your success. Looking forward to following your adventures here. You have a great writing style.

Thanks man. I appreciate the compliment! I think youre right. I havent met many truly aucceasdul people that had negative attitudes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62