XRP Ripple Hype? - Brad

in #decentralize7 years ago (edited)

"In a landscape of a lot of hype, Ripple is the one delivering a reality."

Quote by Brad Garlinghouse Ripple CEO.

ripple-prediction.jpg

source

The question I want to look at here is this: "Is Ripple a Decentralized coin?"
Brad Garlinghouse became a successful CEO by making Ripple available to centralized financial markets today. And the founder Chris Larsen became one of the richest men in the world by starting up Ripple. According to the Garlinghouse, several banks and financial institutions have agreed to support its Xcurrent product.

Chris and Brad.PNG

source
source

Congratulations Chris and Brad, but isn't Ripple everything that crypto currency is NOT supposed to be? Each individual is to be his own bank and the community of users responsible for the use of the currency in animosity. Now I'm all confused. And Ripple may be the future of crypto for 2018. Maybe anonymous names on white papers will be forgotten and once again CEOs will give orders to companies and make agreements with nations and institutions and the crypto world will under the thumb of a centralized agency. Finally the decentralized under the control of a few good men. You can taste my sarcasm, but honestly can someone tell me what is going on here?

Should we all jump on the Ripple train

or is this totally NOT what crypto is about?

@mineopoly

mineopoly banner 1.png

Sort:  

I am on your side. Ripple is not the ideological crypto, but it could improve the existing system. faster and cheaper money transfer via blockchain. I like the idea of decentralized currency, but in my opinion it is not possible to push the Banksystem of the throne. All in all Ripple could be a nice investment. not more!
no! Ripple is centralized ! The interesting thing is Ripple Lab, the company and not the XRP Token, cause banks use and could use the RippleLab software without using the XRP.

Thank you so much for clarifying this. Then it is really is the company going to the moon more than the crypto. "...in my opinion it is not possible to push the Bank system off the throne." Haha. I never outgrew my idealistic teenage attitude that decentralization would finally be of the people for the people but there will be necessary intermediates. At around 3 dollars a coin ripple still seems like a reasonable investment. But it will not revolutionize currency. You helped me a lot :)

It is unpredictable. I think t could rise up to 7/8§ this year, also it could fall around 1$. At the moment - Blockchain is a future thing and we all will see what happens, if it gets adopted by the economy. Maybe states/banks will invent their own coins or some existing coins will consist.
We all have to wait. Let us hope it will be ripple ;) @insideoutlet

I'm not sure what's going on but from reading what you stated above. Even if XRP did deal with the centralised systems it does not make it centralised as it's still blockchain technology which is decentralised. The fact that the banks will deal with them I think is a benefit to crypto as this is a step towards crypto for the banks.

Either way we have invested and we will HODL, the return on it was been substantial to date and I have faith it will continue. My only annoyance is why didn't I buy more.

I bought some at 0,60 Cents and I will HODL too, but the thing is.
All Coins were premined and nearly 55% are in the hands of Ripple Labs, if I am not wrong. But they escrows 55Billion XRP for Supply Predictability . have a look at This.
Most of the banks who works together with RippleLabs only using the xCurrent technology. For using Xcurrent (QuickMoneyTransfer)There is no need for using XRP/RippleCoins. I think RippleLabs hopes to become something like a bridge currency. So it is not necessary for the bank to put money in the XRP Cryptocurrency.

If it is a benefit or have an impact of the XRP Tokens depends of which side you are. Darth Vader or ObiWanKnobi ;) Bitcoin or Ripple

Let us HODL and relax!

I think there needs to be a bridge between the two so that both sides can relax a little lol.

We did notice before investing that there were a huge amount of it out there and our concerns around the 60% ownership and the ability to dump at anytime is the main reason we didn't invest more.

Never invest what you aren't afraid to lose.

@moriartyroue Im curious which you consider Darth Vader and which Obi?

. Never invest what you aren't afraid to lose. You are right with that quote. :)
Which you consider Darth Vader and which Obi depends on your Ideology, so everyone have to decide that for themselves.

I think they are on the same side, be it light or dark yet I do not know, but I am hoping for the light!

Actly they are not. If you interested in the easiest way would be to read the white paper of Nakamoto about the Bitcoin and compare it to the Ripple ideology

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58248.35
ETH 3136.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36