Is ETH avoiding STEEM?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #decentralization7 years ago (edited)

dont own image

Me reading Vitalik Buterin's article about The Meaning of Decentralization on Medium when...

dont own image

I too have wondered about this, why would you ever blog outside of a blockchain when the option is already available? Why would you waste time in writing articles that can be corrupted or simply taken down?

I understand trying to gain exposure by posting on different places, but I can't understand why he (and others) wouldn't publish also in Steemit given that it's very easy to do and they'd be speaking to an audience that is already interested in the subject. The only thing I can think of is they stay away from the subject because they don't want to promote the technology possibly losing some business to competition.

Others, like Dash, don't seem to have a problem mentioning Steemit. Perhaps the reason why Amanda B. Johnson has mentioned Steemit for the past 3 weeks on YouTube is because the Dash team is more confident in their product than the Ethereum crowd, or maybe she has mentioned this site repeatedly because it is a great source of news for the technology and she would have less of a show otherwise.

Whatever the case may be, I do agree with the comment in that I think we'd be better off if we supported each other more. It's important that we do away with the mentality that some have to fail for others to succeed.


follow

Sort:  

Okay Okay, it was resteemed, voted, followed, and now commented. Happy?

Lets see if someone can do the math and take 1% of reddits community to embrace $teemit$

It might be because Steem blockchain could be viewed as a competing blockchain with eth. What Eth does, you can also do with Steem, but it seems steem might actually be a bit faster. This of course could be wrong as I am no blockchain expert and I could have been mislead by things I read.

I'm thinking it's a matter of competition. He has mentioned a few other blockchains in the past, including Blocktrades, but he always stays away from the subject of Steemit and Dash too. There is no way he is not aware of Steemit by now, he probably has an anon account just to stay on top of his game. By now, if he hasn't announced a blog in Steemit, is because he's avoiding it.

As I said above, I don't understand this. This is just healthy. This will force the developper to develop a better product to be really competitive and everyone wins.

I'm not saying competition is not healthy, the problem is when competition makes you do irrational things like risking your work to be all lost by publishing in less secure places. I'm actually pretty happy about him ignoring Steem because of competition, means we are doing good.

I was not referring to you btw, but to him (sorry for being unclear with this).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56